GPT-6
29 articles tagged with GPT-6
OpenAI launches GPT-6 in ChatGPT with 'Intelligent UI' and interactive answers; Sol for paid users, Luna for free
OpenAI is rolling out GPT-6 to all ChatGPT tiers, with paying users on GPT-6 Sol and free users on GPT-6 Luna. The release adds 'Intelligent UI,' which renders answers as interactive charts, buttons, forms and mini apps, and lets the model respond while still thinking. OpenAI claims this cuts wait times by 44 percent.
OpenAI publishes startup guide to choosing and deploying GPT-6 models, with reasoning-effort tuning
OpenAI has published a practical guide for startups building on the GPT-6 family. It covers model selection, reasoning effort, prompts and skills, tool coordination, and production workflows. The available summary discloses no pricing, context window, or benchmark figures.
GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast Claims Up to 8x Faster Token Generation on NVIDIA Blackwell GPUs
GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast, running on NVIDIA Blackwell GPUs, is available now in the OpenAI API and to eligible ChatGPT Work and Codex users. NVIDIA says it generates tokens up to 8x faster than Astra Standard mode. Pricing and context window details were not disclosed in the source.
OpenAI Adds GPT-6.1 Sol Pro, a High-Reasoning Mode of GPT-6.1 Sol, at $2/$10 per 1M Tokens
OpenAI has released GPT-6.1 Sol Pro, which runs the same underlying GPT-6.1 Sol model with reasoning.mode set to 'pro' for higher-accuracy responses on complex tasks. It costs several times more per request than standard GPT-6.1 Sol and is priced at $2/$10 per 1M input/output tokens with a 1.1M token context window.
OpenAI Releases GPT-6.1 Sol: Mid-Tier Model with 1.1M Context at $2/$10 per Million Tokens
OpenAI has released GPT-6.1 Sol, an incremental upgrade to GPT-6 Sol positioned below flagship GPT-6 Astra in its GPT-6 lineup. The model features a 1.1M token context window, priced at $2 per 1M input tokens and $10 per 1M output tokens, with claimed improvements in factual accuracy and instruction-following on agentic tasks.
OpenAI Reopens $200 Pro Plan, Halves API Credits Included
OpenAI is reopening its $200-per-month Pro subscription to new sign-ups while cutting the API credits bundled with it in half. The company also removed the 5-hour usage cap, letting subscribers spend their weekly allotment however they choose.
OpenAI Upgrades ChatGPT Voice with GPT-6 Power, Plugin Support, and ChatGPT Work Integration
OpenAI is upgrading ChatGPT Voice with three changes: it now runs on GPT-6 models, supports plugins like email and Slack, and integrates with ChatGPT Work on web and mobile. The update addresses a longstanding gap between voice mode and OpenAI's broader feature set.
OpenAI Cuts GPT-6 Sol and Luna Prices in Half, but Independent Benchmarks Show Flat Performance
OpenAI's GPT-6 Sol and Luna cut input/output token prices in half versus GPT-5.6, with Sol now at $2/$10 per million tokens and Luna at $0.10/$0.50. Independent testing from Artificial Analysis shows intelligence scores barely moved, with regressions on some knowledge-work benchmarks.
OpenAI Rolls Out Improved Prompt Caching for GPT-6
OpenAI has published a changelog describing improved prompt caching for GPT-6, claiming higher cache hit rates, new diagnostic tooling, and explicit cache breakpoints. The update targets developers running high-volume, repetitive-prompt workloads who want lower latency and cost.
Three Unverified 'GPT-6' Model Listings Appear on OpenRouter: Sol Pro, Luna, and Luna Pro
Three model pages bearing the names GPT-6 Sol Pro, GPT-6 Luna, and GPT-6 Luna Pro have surfaced on OpenRouter's site, but OpenAI has issued no official announcement confirming these as real releases. No pricing, benchmark scores, or context window figures have been disclosed.
OpenAI Lists GPT-6 Luna Pro: A High-Reasoning Mode for Its Budget GPT-6 Model, Not a New Checkpoint
GPT-6 Luna Pro, listed on OpenRouter with a Sep 22, 2026 release date, is not a distinct model but GPT-6 Luna run with reasoning.mode set to 'pro' for higher-quality outputs on complex tasks. It carries a 1.1M token context window and costs $0.10 per 1M input tokens and $0.50 per 1M output tokens under standard routing.
OpenAI Launches GPT-6 Luna: Fast, Low-Cost Model With 1.1M Context Window
OpenAI has released GPT-6 Luna, the fast and cost-efficient entry in its new GPT-6 model family, featuring a 1.1M token context window and pricing starting at $0.10 per 1M input tokens. The model is positioned below GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Astra in OpenAI's tiered lineup.
OpenAI Launches GPT-6 Sol Pro, a High-Reasoning Mode for Its Mid-Tier Model at $2/$10 per 1M Tokens
OpenAI has released GPT-6 Sol Pro, which runs the existing GPT-6 Sol model with its reasoning mode set to 'pro' for higher-quality responses on complex tasks. It carries a 1.1 million token context window and is priced at $2 per 1M input tokens and $10 per 1M output tokens.
OpenAI Python SDK v3.18.0 Adds Identifiers for 'GPT-6 Sol' and 'GPT-6 Luna'
OpenAI's openai-python SDK v3.18.0 release adds two new model identifiers, 'GPT-6 Sol' and 'GPT-6 Luna,' to its codebase. No official model announcement, specifications, or pricing has been released alongside this change.
OpenAI's GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna Launch on Amazon Bedrock, Priced Below GPT-5.6
OpenAI has launched GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna on Amazon Bedrock, positioned below flagship GPT-6 Astra for recurring coding tasks and high-volume document processing respectively. Both models cost less per API call than their GPT-5.6 predecessors, though exact pricing figures were not disclosed.
OpenAI Releases GPT-6 Sol and Luna at Half the Price of Predecessors
OpenAI has released GPT-6 Sol and Luna, updated versions of its mid-tier and lightweight models, priced at half the cost of their GPT-5.6 predecessors. The company claims GPT-6 Sol makes roughly half as many factual errors as its predecessor, reaching what it calls 'Astra-level reliability' at lower cost.
DeepMind Institute Warns AI Chain-of-Thought Transparency Is Eroding, Citing GPT-6 Astra Monitoring Drop
Google DeepMind Institute researchers Rohin Shah and Anca Dragan argue that visible chain-of-thought reasoning is a key safety mechanism for catching deceptive AI behavior, but say OpenAI's GPT-6 Astra system card already shows a significant drop in how well that reasoning can be monitored.
OpenAI's GPT-6 Astra Beats Pokémon in 18 Hours, Scores 62.7% on ARC-AGI-3
GPT-6 Astra completed Pokémon FireRed in 18 hours 12 minutes, five times faster than its predecessor, and scored 62.7% on ARC-AGI-3 versus 7.78% for GPT-5.6 Sol. The model also ran a 141-hour Minecraft session and finished Fallout 3 in roughly 59 hours, according to independent testers.
OpenAI's GPT-6 Astra Tops Math Benchmark Despite Deliberately Skipping Math Optimization
OpenAI's GPT-6 Astra took first place on ulam.ai's ErdosBench, solving 106 of 226 open math problems and disproving 27 others. Chief scientist Jakub Pachocki says the company deliberately didn't optimize for math research, prioritizing recursive self-improvement work instead.
OpenAI Claims Unreleased Model Solved Navier-Stokes Problem, Faces Credit Dispute
OpenAI claims an internal, unreleased model solved part of the Navier-Stokes Millennium Prize problem using roughly 10,000 concurrent agents over 88 hours. NYU mathematician Tristan Buckmaster has questioned whether the effort drew on his unpublished research with an Anthropic researcher.
Unverified 'GPT-6 Astra' Reportedly Completes Portal Solo in Under 24 Hours, No Official OpenAI Confirmation
A developer named cozyblaze posted on X that a model called 'GPT-6 Astra' completed Portal from start to finish without human intervention in 23 hours 43 minutes. OpenAI has not confirmed the existence of a model by that name, and all details come from a single third-party account.
Vercel AI SDK Patches OpenAI Provider to v4.0.60, Adds GPT-6 Reasoning Config Fields
Vercel released @ai-sdk/openai version 4.0.60, a patch update that adds reasoning configuration support referencing 'GPT-6' in the codebase. OpenAI has not announced a GPT-6 model, making this an early SDK-side scaffolding change rather than confirmation of a new release.
OpenAI Launches GPT-6 Astra With Half the Message Allowance of GPT-5.6 Sol
OpenAI has begun rolling out GPT-6 Astra to top-tier ChatGPT plans, the API, Azure, and AWS Bedrock. The model delivers roughly half the usage allowance of GPT-5.6 Sol across comparable plans, with Plus and Business users gaining access in the coming days.
Simon Willison's Pelican Benchmark Shows GPT-6 Astra Outperforming GPT-5.6 Sol at Every Reasoning Level
Developer Simon Willison ran his signature 'pelican riding a bicycle' SVG test on newly-accessed GPT-6 Astra across five reasoning levels, comparing results against GPT-5.6 Sol, Terra, and Luna. Even Astra's lowest reasoning setting reportedly beat every Sol output, though Astra costs roughly twice as much per token.
OpenAI Lists GPT-6 Astra Pro on OpenRouter: Same Model, Higher-Compute Reasoning Mode
GPT-6 Astra Pro, now listed on OpenRouter, is the existing GPT-6 Astra model configured to run with reasoning.mode set to 'pro' for higher-quality output on complex tasks. It carries a 1M-token context window and tiered pricing from $5/$25 to $20/$100 per million input/output tokens depending on the serving tier.
OpenAI's GPT-6 Astra Cuts Hallucinations, But Indirect Prompt Injection Attacks Still Succeed 8.5% of the Time
OpenAI's new GPT-6 Astra model shows major improvements in hallucination rates and jailbreak resistance over predecessor GPT-5.6 Sol, according to OpenAI's system card. However, indirect prompt injection attacks hidden in documents still succeed 8.5% of the time in external testing by Gray Swan, down from 27% but still above rival Claude Opus 5's 4.8% rate.
OpenAI's GPT-6 Astra Reportedly Automates AI Engineering Tasks at Under $6 an Hour, According to Latent Space Testing
A Latent Space report describes GPT-6 Astra, a new OpenAI model the blog says can autonomously handle AI engineering tasks—training models, labeling data, deploying systems—at an estimated cost of under $6 per hour. The claims, including 97.6% on FrontierMath and 99.9% on ARC-AGI-3, come from independent blog testing rather than an official OpenAI announcement.
OpenAI Python SDK v3.8.0 Reveals Reference to Unannounced 'gpt-6-astra' Model
The openai-python SDK v3.8.0 release notes, dated September 3, 2026, list a feature addition for 'gpt-6-astra' — a model name not previously confirmed by OpenAI. No official announcement, pricing, or specifications have been released.
OpenAI Reportedly Developing 'Astra' Model Family for Multi-Day Autonomous Problem-Solving
OpenAI is reportedly developing a new model family called Astra, designed to coordinate multiple agents on complex problems over hours or days. The models are already in testing and would be first to go through a planned U.S. government pre-release review, according to The Information.