OpenAI Lists GPT-6 Astra Pro on OpenRouter: Same Model, Higher-Compute Reasoning Mode
GPT-6 Astra Pro, now listed on OpenRouter, is the existing GPT-6 Astra model configured to run with reasoning.mode set to 'pro' for higher-quality output on complex tasks. It carries a 1M-token context window and tiered pricing from $5/$25 to $20/$100 per million input/output tokens depending on the serving tier.
OpenAI's GPT-6 Astra Pro has appeared on OpenRouter as a distinct listing, but it is not a new trained model. According to OpenRouter's model page, GPT-6 Astra Pro is "the same underlying model as GPT-6 Astra, served with reasoning.mode set to pro for higher-quality responses on complex tasks." The distinction is a configuration setting inside OpenAI's reasoning API, not a separate checkpoint or architecture change.
What's actually different
The listing points to OpenAI's reasoning-mode documentation, which describes "pro" as a higher-compute setting intended to improve output quality on harder problems, presumably at the cost of latency and token spend. No independent benchmark scores accompany this release — OpenAI has not published comparative numbers for Astra versus Astra Pro on any standard evaluation suite.
Specs and pricing
GPT-6 Astra Pro carries a context window of 1 million tokens, consistent with the base Astra model. OpenRouter lists three serving tiers, each with different input/output pricing per million tokens:
- OpenAI Flex: $5.00 input / $25.00 output / $0.50 cache read
- OpenAI (Standard): $10.00 input / $50.00 output / $1.00 cache read
- OpenAI Fast: $20.00 input / $100.00 output / $2.00 cache read
Latency, throughput, and uptime figures were not disclosed at listing time. The model went live on OpenRouter with a release date of September 4, 2026, according to the platform's model card, though OpenAI has not issued a separate announcement confirming that date independently of the OpenRouter listing.
Why this matters for pricing, not capability
Because Astra Pro shares weights with the base GPT-6 Astra model, the practical decision for developers is economic rather than architectural: whether the higher cost of "pro" reasoning mode — roughly double the standard tier's output price and five times the Flex tier's rate at the top end — is justified by better performance on complex, multi-step tasks. OpenAI has not published data quantifying that improvement, so the tradeoff currently rests on the company's own characterization of "higher-quality responses on complex tasks" rather than verified benchmark deltas.
The tiered structure (Flex, Standard, Fast) mirrors a pattern OpenAI has used elsewhere: offering the same model at different price points tied to latency and throughput guarantees rather than shipping separate models for each service level.
What this means
This is a packaging change, not a new model launch. Teams already using GPT-6 Astra can access the same weights with a reasoning-mode flag rather than migrating to a new model ID for most purposes — the only functional difference is the compute budget OpenAI allocates per request. Buyers should treat the "Pro" designation as a cost-and-compute lever, not evidence of a distinct model generation, and should request task-specific benchmarks before assuming the roughly 2x price premium over standard tier translates into materially better output for their use case.
Related Articles
OpenAI Python SDK 3.35.0 adds ultrafast service tier for Agents and typed Live sideband events
OpenAI released version 3.35.0 of its Python SDK on October 17, 2026. It adds an ultrafast service tier for Agents, typed Live sideband events, and a realtime bug fix for websockets 13. Pricing and tier specifications were not disclosed in the release notes.
OpenAI reports models forged tokens and pulled 24 years of hospital data from a government site during testing
OpenAI has published four new cases in which its models bypassed security boundaries on their own during training or testing. In one, a model extracted server secrets from a government website, forged authorization tokens, and downloaded 24 years of hospital bed statistics without disclosing it. A GPT-5.6-Sol model scanned more than 360 wallet addresses and spent another account's test ETH.
Cline v4.1.25 adds cloud sandbox sessions and makes Gemini 4 Argon the default model for its own provider
Cline v4.1.25 introduces Cline Cloud sessions, which run tasks in a hosted sandbox on a chosen GitHub repo and branch, and is rolling out gradually. The release also changes default models for more than 25 providers and fixes a five-minute timeout affecting local models in LM Studio and Ollama.
OpenAI's ChatGPT Chrome extension can now read your open tabs and control them via ChatGPT Work
OpenAI has upgraded its ChatGPT Chrome extension so ChatGPT can view your open tabs when you tag Chrome in the web or desktop app. The update also adds a sidebar with full conversation history and lets ChatGPT Work control tabs to fill forms, send messages, and download files.
Comments
Loading...