changelogOpenAI

OpenAI Python SDK v3.8.0 Reveals Reference to Unannounced 'gpt-6-astra' Model

TL;DR

The openai-python SDK v3.8.0 release notes, dated September 3, 2026, list a feature addition for 'gpt-6-astra' — a model name not previously confirmed by OpenAI. No official announcement, pricing, or specifications have been released.

2 min read
0

What happened

OpenAI shipped version 3.8.0 of its official Python SDK on September 3, 2026. Buried in the changelog is a single feature line: "api: add gpt-6-astra and related features" (PR #3791, commit 09f446f). The release also includes a documentation update adding what OpenAI calls a "canonical SDK security model" (PR #3778).

This is the first public reference to a model called gpt-6-astra. OpenAI has not published a blog post, model card, or announcement confirming the model's existence, capabilities, or availability. The SDK changelog is the only public trace of it as of this writing.

What we know — and what we don't

Confirmed:

  • The string "gpt-6-astra" now appears in the openai-python codebase as of v3.8.0.
  • The change was merged via a single pull request with no accompanying technical documentation in the public changelog.

Not confirmed:

  • Context window size
  • Pricing per 1M input/output tokens
  • Benchmark scores
  • Parameter count
  • Training data cutoff
  • Whether "gpt-6-astra" is a full model release, an internal codename, a preview/snapshot build, or a routing alias for an existing model

OpenAI frequently ships SDK support ahead of public model announcements to prepare client libraries for upcoming API endpoints. This pattern has preceded past releases, but SDK-level references have also sometimes referred to internal testing builds, deprecated experiments, or features that never shipped publicly. Treat the "astra" designation as unverified until OpenAI issues an official statement.

What this means

A name showing up in an SDK changelog is a signal, not a launch. It tells us OpenAI's engineering pipeline is actively integrating a model called gpt-6-astra into its client libraries — typically a precursor to a public API release, but not proof one is imminent or that the naming will stick. Companies routinely rename or scrap internal builds before shipping.

For developers, the practical takeaway is limited: there is no new endpoint to call, no pricing to budget for, and no benchmark to evaluate against. The only actionable step is watching the openai-python repository and OpenAI's official channels for a follow-up announcement that would confirm specifications.

Until OpenAI publishes a model card with concrete numbers — context window, pricing, benchmark scores — gpt-6-astra should be treated as an unconfirmed, in-development identifier rather than a released product. We will publish a full model-release article the moment OpenAI discloses specifications.

Related Articles

changelog

OpenAI Python SDK 3.35.0 adds ultrafast service tier for Agents and typed Live sideband events

OpenAI released version 3.35.0 of its Python SDK on October 17, 2026. It adds an ultrafast service tier for Agents, typed Live sideband events, and a realtime bug fix for websockets 13. Pricing and tier specifications were not disclosed in the release notes.

model release

OpenAI launches GPT-6 in ChatGPT with 'Intelligent UI' and interactive answers; Sol for paid users, Luna for free

OpenAI is rolling out GPT-6 to all ChatGPT tiers, with paying users on GPT-6 Sol and free users on GPT-6 Luna. The release adds 'Intelligent UI,' which renders answers as interactive charts, buttons, forms and mini apps, and lets the model respond while still thinking. OpenAI claims this cuts wait times by 44 percent.

analysis

OpenAI publishes startup guide to choosing and deploying GPT-6 models, with reasoning-effort tuning

OpenAI has published a practical guide for startups building on the GPT-6 family. It covers model selection, reasoning effort, prompts and skills, tool coordination, and production workflows. The available summary discloses no pricing, context window, or benchmark figures.

product update

GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast Claims Up to 8x Faster Token Generation on NVIDIA Blackwell GPUs

GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast, running on NVIDIA Blackwell GPUs, is available now in the OpenAI API and to eligible ChatGPT Work and Codex users. NVIDIA says it generates tokens up to 8x faster than Astra Standard mode. Pricing and context window details were not disclosed in the source.

Comments

Loading...