product update

Perplexity launches Personal Computer Mac assistant for $200/month Max subscribers

TL;DR

Perplexity has launched Personal Computer, a Mac-based AI assistant that integrates with local files, native apps, and browsers. The feature is available to Perplexity Max subscribers ($200/month) and waitlist users starting April 16, 2026.

2 min read
0

Perplexity launches Personal Computer Mac assistant for $200/month Max subscribers

Perplexity has released Personal Computer, a Mac-based AI assistant that operates across local files, native apps, and web browsers. The feature rolled out April 16, 2026 to all Perplexity Max subscribers and users on the waitlist that opened March 11.

Pricing and access

Personal Computer is exclusive to Perplexity Max, priced at $200/month. The company's $20/month Pro tier does not include access to Personal Computer, though it does support Perplexity Computer, a less capable web-based version of the assistant.

Technical capabilities

According to Perplexity, Personal Computer can:

  • Connect to any folder to search, read, and write files locally
  • Access and operate iMessage, Apple Mail, Calendar, and other native Mac apps
  • Run continuously in the background on Mac mini setups
  • Execute tasks initiated from iPhone on desktop files using two-factor authentication

The system integrates with the Perplexity Mac App and claims "secure orchestration" across the user's local environment. Perplexity states the feature was inspired by OpenClaw, though specific technical details about the underlying models or processing architecture were not disclosed.

Deployment model

When configured on a Mac mini, Personal Computer can run 24/7 in the background. The system supports cross-device task initiation, allowing users to start operations from an iPhone that execute on their desktop Mac with access to local files and applications.

What this means

Perplexity is pushing into system-level AI assistants with pricing that positions Personal Computer as an enterprise or power-user tool rather than consumer software. At $200/month, it's 10x the cost of their Pro tier and targets users who need persistent, local-first AI assistance across their Mac environment. The feature's ability to write files and operate native apps raises questions about permission models and security boundaries that weren't addressed in the announcement. The Mac mini always-on deployment suggests Perplexity envisions this as infrastructure rather than an on-demand tool.

Related Articles

product update

Google builds Antigravity into Gemini app for macOS, limited to AI Ultra subscribers

Google has integrated Antigravity, its agent-first development platform, directly into the Gemini app for macOS as part of the Gemini 4 Argon rollout. Access requires an AI Ultra subscription, while the new model itself requires AI Pro or above. The update also renames and reorganizes several app features, including Gemini Spark, Skills and Connectors.

product update

Google DeepMind: Gemini 4 Argon scores 87% on ERQA embodied reasoning, targets full robotics stack

Google DeepMind says Gemini 4 Argon scores 87% on the Embodied Reasoning (ERQA) benchmark using pure reasoning, ahead of every other frontier model. A new robotics post demonstrates robot control, Real2Sim reconstruction, physical understanding, and self-improvement workflows. Pricing, context window, and availability were not disclosed.

product update

Gemini 4 Argon expands to Google AI Pro subscribers; API priced at $2/$10 per 1M tokens

Google is extending Gemini 4 Argon from AI Ultra to AI Pro subscribers in the Gemini app and AI Mode. The Gemini API costs $2 per 1M input tokens and $10 per 1M output tokens until November 30, 2026, then doubles to $4 and $20.

product update

Cline v4.1.24 defaults to Claude Sonnet 5.5 and adds Claude Haiku 5.5 to its model catalog

Cline v4.1.24 makes Claude Sonnet 5.5 the default model for the Cline and OpenRouter providers when no model is selected. The release also adds Claude Haiku 5.5 and three new providers, and fixes reasoning-off 400 errors on several models plus an auto-compaction token-count bug.

Comments

Loading...