product updateOpenAI

OpenAI Pauses New Pro Subscriptions as Astra Demand Overwhelms Infrastructure

TL;DR

OpenAI has temporarily disabled new sign-ups for its $200-per-month Pro plan, citing infrastructure strain from unprecedented demand for its Astra model. API, Go, and Plus plans remain unaffected.

3 min read
0

OpenAI has temporarily disabled new sign-ups for its $200-per-month Pro subscription tier, citing infrastructure strain caused by demand for Astra, the company's newest model. The pause does not affect existing Pro subscribers, nor does it impact OpenAI's API, Go, or Plus plans, which remain open for new users.

The change was announced on X by Thibault (Tibo) Sottiaux, OpenAI's product lead overseeing core products including Codex and ChatGPT. According to Sottiaux, the Pro plan places the greatest load on OpenAI's systems relative to other tiers, making it the first candidate for restriction. "We wanted to take the smallest step that allows us to continue giving the broadest access possible," he wrote.

OpenAI had signaled the possibility of this move two days earlier. In an earlier post, Sottiaux described demand for Astra as "really unprecedented," stating: "We're pulling all the levers possible to sustain the demand, but I've not seen anything like it until now and we went through very steep growth before. Priority will always be to keep excellent service for existing users, but we might have to pause new Pro subscriptions for a bit if this continues."

OpenAI has not disclosed how long the Pro sign-up pause will last or provided figures on daily sign-up volume, leaving the actual scale of demand unclear. The company has also not specified which infrastructure components — compute capacity, inference servers, or something else — are under the most strain.

Astra launched on September 3, 2026, and has been rolling out across OpenAI's full lineup of consumer and business plans, including Pro, Plus, Enterprise, and Business accounts, as well as being integrated into OpenAI's broader AI product line. The company has described Astra as a major advance in reasoning, coding, and computer-use capabilities, and has gone as far as calling it the beginning of the "AGI era" — a characterization that has drawn attention and likely contributed to sign-up volume.

The timing lines up with other signals of strain on OpenAI's coding-focused infrastructure. The company raised usage limits for Codex users just last month, suggesting that capacity pressure predates the Astra launch and has now intensified.

What this means

A company pausing its highest-priced subscription tier due to demand is a notable signal, but it also raises questions OpenAI hasn't answered: how long will this last, and does it reflect a genuine capacity ceiling or a deliberate rationing strategy while more compute comes online? Pro subscribers pay $200 a month, presumably for expectations of premium, low-latency access — freezing new sign-ups protects that experience for existing users at the cost of growth.

The bigger story is what this says about Astra itself. OpenAI's own marketing labeled it a leap toward "AGI," and unprecedented demand suggests the claim resonated with users, or at least drove curiosity. Whether Astra's actual capabilities match that framing remains to be independently verified through benchmarks and real-world use, since OpenAI has not published detailed comparative scores in this announcement. For now, the practical takeaway for prospective users is straightforward: the API, Plus, and Go tiers remain the paths to accessing Astra until Pro sign-ups reopen.

Related Articles

product update

Apple brings Siri AI beta to Apple TV 4K 2nd and 3rd generation, alongside new $299 A19 model

Apple says Siri AI will be available as a beta on Apple TV 4K (2nd generation or later) through a forthcoming tvOS update. The company also introduced a fourth-generation Apple TV 4K with an A19 chip and a $299 starting price.

product update

Google folds Gemini Spark agent into main Gemini app as 'Task' button next to Chat

Google is merging its Gemini Spark personal agent into the main Gemini chat interface, adding "Chat" and "Task" buttons above the prompt box. The redesign also adds a "Scheduled" page and combines chats and Spark tasks into a single history. It is rolling out on Android via a server-side update.

product update

Grok Bot agent gets its own @mail.grokbot.com email address, rolling out to users now

Grok Bot, the agent available on iPhone, iPad and Mac, now has its own email address ending in @mail.grokbot.com. According to the announcement on X, the agent can use it to sign up for services, contact businesses and schedule time with people. The rollout began October 9, 2026.

product update

Anthropic launches OSS Scanner: free, model-generated security scans for opt-in open-source projects

Anthropic has launched OSS Scanner, an opt-in service that gives open-source projects periodic vulnerability scans at no cost, run by its strongest models including Claude Mythos. Reports are fully model-generated with no human review or triage, so Anthropic warns some may be incorrect or invalid.

Comments

Loading...