changelog

Google ends free Gemini Flash and Pro access on October 9; free users limited to Flash-Lite

TL;DR

Starting October 9, free Gemini accounts will be restricted to Gemini Flash-Lite, losing access to Flash and Pro. Google AI Plus subscribers ($5/month in the US) will lose Gemini 3.1 Pro, and Google is adding low, medium and high effort levels for each model.

2 min read
0

Google will remove Gemini Flash and Gemini Pro from free Gemini accounts on October 9, leaving Flash-Lite as the only model available to non-paying users. The change was published on Google's Gemini support page and reported by Engadget on October 6, 2026.

What changes on October 9

  • Free accounts: The model picker currently offers three options in the app and on desktop. After October 9, all free queries will run on Flash-Lite, which Google describes as its most cost-effective model.
  • Google AI Plus ($5/month in the US): Subscribers on Google's cheapest paid tier will lose access to Gemini 3.1 Pro.
  • Effort levels: Google is adding low, medium and high effort settings for each model. Higher levels produce more thorough answers but consume more of a user's usage limit.
  • Deep Think: AI Ultra subscribers get a Deep Think option for Gemini's maximum capabilities.
  • Gemini 4 Argon: AI Ultra subscribers will get access when it reaches general availability. For now it is limited to members of Google's Fairwind Program, which serves governments and trusted partners.

Plan pricing referenced

Plan US price Pro-tier model access
Free $0 No (Flash-Lite only)
Google AI Plus $5/month No (loses Gemini 3.1 Pro)
Google AI Pro $20/month Yes
Google AI Ultra From $100/month Yes, plus Deep Think and higher usage limits

Google positions Pro as the model for advanced reasoning, complex math and coding, with a "deeper understanding across text, files, images and videos" than its other models. Engadget notes that users who rely on Gemini for coding or for digesting large sets of documents will likely need an AI Pro plan.

What is not disclosed

The source material does not specify the Flash-Lite version number, its context window, or the usage caps for each tier or effort level. It also does not say how the effort levels map to limit consumption. The changes apply to the Gemini apps and website. The source does not address API access or API pricing.

What this means

This is a tier restructuring, not a model launch. Google is moving its stronger models behind payment while keeping a low-cost model as the free default. That reduces serving costs on the free tier, where reasoning-heavy models are the most expensive to run.

The AI Plus change is the notable detail. At $5/month, it was the cheapest route to Pro-class output, and removing Gemini 3.1 Pro pushes anyone who needs it toward the $20 AI Pro plan, a fourfold price increase for that access.

Effort levels also move cost control to the user. Each query's compute draw now depends on the selected setting, which makes usage limits more variable and harder to predict. The Gemini 4 Argon rollout, currently restricted to Fairwind partners and planned for AI Ultra, suggests Google intends to reserve its newest models for its highest-priced tier first.

Related Articles

changelog

Google limits free Gemini users to Flash-Lite and removes Pro from the $4.99 AI Plus plan

Starting in October 2026, Google will limit personal-account Gemini users without a subscription to the smallest model, Flash-Lite. The $4.99/month AI Plus plan loses Pro access, and all three models now require AI Pro ($19.99/month) or higher.

changelog

Google Adds Real-Time Video Avatars to Gemini 3.8 Live for Enterprise Voice Agents

Google has added Live Avatar to its Gemini 3.8 Live dialogue models, pairing real-time video personas with voice AI for enterprise customer service and sales use cases. The feature is restricted to Gemini Enterprise customers via allowlisting and includes SynthID watermarking on all generated video.

changelog

OpenAI Adds GPT-6.1 Sol Pro, a High-Reasoning Mode of GPT-6.1 Sol, at $2/$10 per 1M Tokens

OpenAI has released GPT-6.1 Sol Pro, which runs the same underlying GPT-6.1 Sol model with reasoning.mode set to 'pro' for higher-accuracy responses on complex tasks. It costs several times more per request than standard GPT-6.1 Sol and is priced at $2/$10 per 1M input/output tokens with a 1.1M token context window.

changelog

OpenAI Reopens $200 Pro Plan, Halves API Credits Included

OpenAI is reopening its $200-per-month Pro subscription to new sign-ups while cutting the API credits bundled with it in half. The company also removed the 5-hour usage cap, letting subscribers spend their weekly allotment however they choose.

Comments

Loading...