changelog

Google limits free Gemini users to Flash-Lite and removes Pro from the $4.99 AI Plus plan

TL;DR

Starting in October 2026, Google will limit personal-account Gemini users without a subscription to the smallest model, Flash-Lite. The $4.99/month AI Plus plan loses Pro access, and all three models now require AI Pro ($19.99/month) or higher.

3 min read
0

Google is restructuring model access in the Gemini app for personal accounts. Starting in October 2026, users without a subscription will get only Flash-Lite, the smallest model in the lineup. The $4.99/month AI Plus plan will no longer include Pro, according to reporting by The Decoder, which cites Google's support page for the tier details.

What changes

The current free tier includes access to Gemini 3.6 Flash and varying access to Gemini 3.1 Pro. Under the new setup, free users lose both. The exact October start date was not specified in the source.

The new access matrix:

Google AI plan Price Flash-Lite Flash Pro
No plan Free Yes No No
AI Plus $4.99/month Yes Yes No
AI Pro $19.99/month Yes Yes Yes
AI Ultra $99.99 or $199.99/month Yes Yes Yes

AI Plus subscribers lose Pro access and keep Flash-Lite and Flash. Pro now requires AI Pro at $19.99/month, four times the AI Plus price. The source does not state whether usage limits differ between AI Pro and the two AI Ultra price points.

What is not disclosed

The source does not give version numbers for the Flash-Lite model, context window sizes, per-model usage caps, or API pricing. This change applies to personal-account subscription access and is not an API pricing change. No new model is being released.

Gemini 4 Argon speculation

The Decoder suggests Google may be preparing for "Gemini 4 Argon," which it says could be more expensive to run. This is the publication's inference, not a Google announcement. Google has not confirmed a release date, pricing, or specifications for such a model in the material cited.

Comparison to OpenAI

The Decoder says the structure mirrors OpenAI's freemium approach with ChatGPT, where free users get a restricted model set and higher-capability models sit behind paid tiers.

Expected impact

The Decoder argues the real-world effect will likely be small. Most casual users do not know which model they are running, and power users, which it estimates at a few percent of the user base, are likely already subscribed. These are the publication's assessments, not Google's figures.

What this means

This is a monetization and compute-allocation move, not a capability change. Moving the free tier to the cheapest model reduces serving cost for the largest user group, and the removal of Pro from the $4.99 plan creates a clear upgrade incentive toward the $19.99 tier. The price gap between AI Plus and AI Pro is the notable part: users who want frontier-tier access now face a jump from $4.99 to $19.99.

For developers and teams, the practical effect is that free-tier Gemini app output will come from a smaller model, which matters for anyone using it informally to prototype or compare. Teams that rely on consistent quality should use paid tiers or the API, where pricing is separate and not covered here.

Whether this precedes a larger model launch remains speculation. Watch for Google's official support documentation and any usage-limit details, which will determine how much value each paid tier delivers.

Related Articles

changelog

Google Adds Real-Time Video Avatars to Gemini 3.8 Live for Enterprise Voice Agents

Google has added Live Avatar to its Gemini 3.8 Live dialogue models, pairing real-time video personas with voice AI for enterprise customer service and sales use cases. The feature is restricted to Gemini Enterprise customers via allowlisting and includes SynthID watermarking on all generated video.

changelog

OpenAI Adds GPT-6.1 Sol Pro, a High-Reasoning Mode of GPT-6.1 Sol, at $2/$10 per 1M Tokens

OpenAI has released GPT-6.1 Sol Pro, which runs the same underlying GPT-6.1 Sol model with reasoning.mode set to 'pro' for higher-accuracy responses on complex tasks. It costs several times more per request than standard GPT-6.1 Sol and is priced at $2/$10 per 1M input/output tokens with a 1.1M token context window.

changelog

OpenAI Reopens $200 Pro Plan, Halves API Credits Included

OpenAI is reopening its $200-per-month Pro subscription to new sign-ups while cutting the API credits bundled with it in half. The company also removed the 5-hour usage cap, letting subscribers spend their weekly allotment however they choose.

changelog

OpenAI Cuts GPT-6 Sol and Luna Prices in Half, but Independent Benchmarks Show Flat Performance

OpenAI's GPT-6 Sol and Luna cut input/output token prices in half versus GPT-5.6, with Sol now at $2/$10 per million tokens and Luna at $0.10/$0.50. Independent testing from Artificial Analysis shows intelligence scores barely moved, with regressions on some knowledge-work benchmarks.

Comments

Loading...