product updateGitHub

GitHub Copilot adds flexible model switching to Pro tier, launches Max plan on June 1

TL;DR

GitHub is restructuring its Copilot individual subscription tiers effective June 1, 2025. The company is introducing flexible model allotments to Pro and Pro+ plans and launching a new Max tier, responding to user feedback on plan structure.

2 min read
0

GitHub Copilot adds flexible model switching to Pro tier, launches Max plan on June 1

GitHub is restructuring its Copilot individual subscription tiers effective June 1, 2025, introducing flexible model selection capabilities and a new premium Max plan.

Plan changes

The update affects three tiers:

Pro and Pro+: Both plans will now include "flex allotments," allowing subscribers to switch between different AI models based on their development needs. GitHub has not disclosed specific details about which models will be available or usage limits.

Max (new tier): GitHub is launching a new Max subscription level, positioned above the current Pro+ tier. Pricing and specific features for Max have not been announced.

Pricing and availability

GitHub has not released pricing information for any of the updated tiers. The company stated the changes are "based on your feedback," suggesting the restructuring responds to user requests for more flexibility in model selection.

The current GitHub Copilot individual plan costs $10 per month or $100 per year. GitHub has not confirmed whether these prices will change with the new tier structure.

Technical details not disclosed

GitHub's announcement does not specify:

  • Which AI models will be included in flex allotments
  • Token limits or usage caps for model switching
  • Specific features distinguishing Max from Pro+
  • Whether the base $10/month tier will remain available
  • Integration changes for existing users

The announcement appears to be a preliminary disclosure ahead of more detailed information expected before the June 1 launch date.

What this means

GitHub is moving toward a tiered flexibility model common in AI coding assistants, where users pay more for access to multiple underlying models. The flex allotment approach suggests GitHub may allow developers to choose between faster, cheaper models for routine tasks and more capable models for complex problems. However, without disclosed usage limits or model options, it's unclear whether this represents genuine flexibility or marketing repositioning of existing capabilities. The timing aligns with increased competition in AI coding tools from Cursor, Windsurf, and other products offering multi-model support.

Related Articles

product update

OpenAI's ChatGPT Chrome extension can now read your open tabs and control them via ChatGPT Work

OpenAI has upgraded its ChatGPT Chrome extension so ChatGPT can view your open tabs when you tag Chrome in the web or desktop app. The update also adds a sidebar with full conversation history and lets ChatGPT Work control tabs to fill forms, send messages, and download files.

product update

Apple brings Siri AI beta to Apple TV 4K 2nd and 3rd generation, alongside new $299 A19 model

Apple says Siri AI will be available as a beta on Apple TV 4K (2nd generation or later) through a forthcoming tvOS update. The company also introduced a fourth-generation Apple TV 4K with an A19 chip and a $299 starting price.

product update

Google folds Gemini Spark agent into main Gemini app as 'Task' button next to Chat

Google is merging its Gemini Spark personal agent into the main Gemini chat interface, adding "Chat" and "Task" buttons above the prompt box. The redesign also adds a "Scheduled" page and combines chats and Spark tasks into a single history. It is rolling out on Android via a server-side update.

product update

Grok Bot agent gets its own @mail.grokbot.com email address, rolling out to users now

Grok Bot, the agent available on iPhone, iPad and Mac, now has its own email address ending in @mail.grokbot.com. According to the announcement on X, the agent can use it to sign up for services, contact businesses and schedule time with people. The rollout began October 9, 2026.

Comments

Loading...