product updateOpenAI

OpenAI adds visual shopping to ChatGPT with product images and prices, abandons own checkout

TL;DR

OpenAI is adding visual shopping capabilities to ChatGPT, allowing users to compare products with images, prices, and ratings directly in chat. The feature rolls out this week to all plans, including free tier, powered by OpenAI's Agentic Commerce Protocol (ACP). OpenAI is abandoning its own checkout system, instead positioning itself as a product discovery layer that sends users to retailer checkout pages.

2 min read
0

OpenAI Adds Visual Shopping to ChatGPT With Product Images and Prices, Drops Own Checkout

OpenAI is expanding ChatGPT into a product discovery platform, rolling out visual shopping features this week across all user tiers—free, Go, Plus, and Pro. Users can now browse products as image tiles, upload photos to find similar items, and compare options side-by-side with prices and ratings.

What's Changing

Previously, uploading a photo of a shirt and asking for similar products returned generic text recommendations with brand names and style tips. Now ChatGPT displays specific products with actual images, prices, and comparison tables showing fabric, fit, and price ranges.

The feature is initially available on web browsers, with iOS and Android apps coming later.

The Technical Stack: Agentic Commerce Protocol (ACP)

OpenAI is powering this through the Agentic Commerce Protocol (ACP), which allows retailers to feed product catalogs directly into ChatGPT. The company supports multiple integration channels, including third-party providers like Salesforce and Stripe. Shopify merchants are automatically connected via the Shopify Catalog.

Retailers already integrated include Target, Sephora, Nordstrom, Lowe's, Best Buy, The Home Depot, and Wayfair. Walmart is launching a dedicated in-ChatGPT app that includes account linking, loyalty programs, and its own payment processing.

The Checkout Pivot: Why OpenAI Abandoned Payments

OpenAI previously attempted to build its own instant checkout system but confirmed it lacked the flexibility retailers needed. In some cases, the company had to connect merchants manually. Rather than becoming a payment processor, OpenAI is positioning itself as an upstream discovery layer that routes users to retailer checkout pages.

This represents a significant shift. OpenAI gains less control over the e-commerce transaction and potentially less revenue. However, it reduces complexity and allows retailers to use their existing payment infrastructure and loyalty programs.

Open Questions

OpenAI has not disclosed: the criteria for product recommendations, whether integrated retailers receive systematic preference over non-connected competitors, or revenue-sharing terms with merchants.

OpenAI has previously stated that ChatGPT's answers should not be driven by commercial interests. This shopping expansion creates potential conflicts between discovery neutrality and partnership incentives.

ACP will eventually support personalization, local availability, and delivery time estimates.

What This Means

OpenAI is treating ChatGPT as infrastructure for commerce discovery, not as a payment processor. This reduces OpenAI's revenue potential but accelerates retailer adoption by preserving their existing checkout and customer relationship systems. The real question is whether ChatGPT's recommendations will remain neutral or whether the ACP ecosystem creates preferential treatment for integrated partners. Given the stakes, transparency on recommendation algorithms will likely become a regulatory focus.

Related Articles

product update

ChatGPT adds virtual try-on and Favorites in global shopping update built on Images 2.5

OpenAI launched two shopping features in ChatGPT globally on Thursday: a virtual try-on tool for clothing and accessories, and a Favorites function for saving products. OpenAI says both use its newly launched ChatGPT Images 2.5 model. Pricing and plan availability were not disclosed in the source reporting.

product update

OpenAI Turns ChatGPT Into an App Store With 4,000+ Apps, Autonomous Agents, and Shared Identity Login

OpenAI announced a suite of Dev Day features—including in-chat app discovery, 'Sign in with ChatGPT,' autonomous Dots agents, and a new enterprise app marketplace—aimed at making ChatGPT a distribution channel that rivals Apple and Google's app stores. The company says ChatGPT now has 1.2 billion weekly users and connects to over 4,000 apps.

product update

OpenAI Launches Dots, Always-On AI Agents Powered by GPT-6 Astra

OpenAI announced Dots at DevDay 2026, always-on AI agents that run on their own cloud computer and can be assigned tasks via ChatGPT, Slack, or Teams. Powered by GPT-6 Astra, Dots are available today to Pro and Business Premium subscribers.

product update

OpenAI launches Dots agent on GPT-6 Astra, limited to $20/month Pro tier and above

OpenAI unveiled Dots at DevDay 2026, a personal agent powered by GPT-6 Astra, available for now only on its $20/month Pro plan and above. Meta's rival Muse agent is free for anyone with a Meta account. OpenAI is positioning Dots as a long-horizon, knowledge-work tool with stronger privacy controls.

Comments

Loading...