product updateSuno

Suno launches Speech public beta: AI voiceovers with background music, up to about eight minutes

TL;DR

Suno has launched Speech in public beta on web and mobile. It generates spoken voice from a script or text prompt, with optional AI-generated background music, for clips up to roughly eight minutes. Suno claims it is the first audio model to generate voice and music together as one track.

2 min read
0

Suno has launched Speech, a feature that generates spoken-word audio from a script or a descriptive prompt, in public beta on its web and mobile platforms. Users can generate a voiceover and matching AI background music in a single pass. Maximum output length is around eight minutes.

What Speech does

Speech sits in Suno's "Create" tab and has two modes:

  • Simple: The user describes the desired output in a prompt box, for example "a pirate captain rallying his crew."
  • Advanced: The user supplies a custom script for the voice to read verbatim.

Advanced settings let users adjust the voice's gender, speech style, and how much variety each generation has. The background music is optional and can be switched off with a toggle for clean speech. Suno positions the pairing for uses such as calm soundtracks under poetry, or more energetic music for dramatic voiceovers and motivational speeches.

Suno's claims

Suno chief product officer Jack Brody called Speech "the first audio model that generates voice and music together as one cohesive track." That is a company claim, and Suno has not published benchmarks or technical documentation to support it. Competing text-to-speech products from ElevenLabs, Adobe and others already exist, though the source does not indicate whether any of them combine voice and generated music in one output.

Brody was candid about the beta's limits: "Beta really does mean beta. Occasionally, British accents can wander off to Australia and back. Dramatic pauses may be very dramatic." Suno says it will refine the feature based on user feedback.

What has not been disclosed

  • Model name and version: Suno has not given a version identifier for the Speech model.
  • Pricing: Pricing and plan availability not yet disclosed.
  • API access: Not mentioned in the announcement coverage.
  • Parameter count, training data and benchmark scores: Not disclosed.
  • Supported languages and accents: Not specified beyond Brody's reference to British accents.

What this means

Speech moves Suno from a single-purpose music generator into adjacent audio territory, where ElevenLabs is the best-known specialist. The differentiator Suno is betting on is integration: one generation yields voice and score together, which removes the manual mixing step creators now do after generating speech and music separately. Whether the quality holds up is untested, since no independent evaluations exist and Suno itself says the beta has rough edges such as accent drift.

The move also has a business angle. The Verge suggests Suno may be diversifying because its music generator has drawn numerous lawsuits. That is the outlet's interpretation, not a Suno statement. Speech output is not music, though the feature still generates background music, so it does not fully remove Suno from that exposure.

The eight-minute cap makes Speech suited to short-form content such as narration, ads and social clips, not long-form audiobooks. Watch for API availability, pricing, and independent voice-quality comparisons against dedicated text-to-speech providers.

Related Articles

product update

Google builds Antigravity into Gemini app for macOS, limited to AI Ultra subscribers

Google has integrated Antigravity, its agent-first development platform, directly into the Gemini app for macOS as part of the Gemini 4 Argon rollout. Access requires an AI Ultra subscription, while the new model itself requires AI Pro or above. The update also renames and reorganizes several app features, including Gemini Spark, Skills and Connectors.

product update

Google DeepMind: Gemini 4 Argon scores 87% on ERQA embodied reasoning, targets full robotics stack

Google DeepMind says Gemini 4 Argon scores 87% on the Embodied Reasoning (ERQA) benchmark using pure reasoning, ahead of every other frontier model. A new robotics post demonstrates robot control, Real2Sim reconstruction, physical understanding, and self-improvement workflows. Pricing, context window, and availability were not disclosed.

product update

Gemini 4 Argon expands to Google AI Pro subscribers; API priced at $2/$10 per 1M tokens

Google is extending Gemini 4 Argon from AI Ultra to AI Pro subscribers in the Gemini app and AI Mode. The Gemini API costs $2 per 1M input tokens and $10 per 1M output tokens until November 30, 2026, then doubles to $4 and $20.

product update

Cline v4.1.24 defaults to Claude Sonnet 5.5 and adds Claude Haiku 5.5 to its model catalog

Cline v4.1.24 makes Claude Sonnet 5.5 the default model for the Cline and OpenRouter providers when no model is selected. The release also adds Claude Haiku 5.5 and three new providers, and fixes reasoning-off 400 errors on several models plus an auto-compaction token-count bug.

Comments

Loading...