OpenAI Reinstates 5-Hour Usage Limit for ChatGPT Plus Codex and Work Tiers
OpenAI will reinstate a five-hour usage limit for Codex and ChatGPT Work on Plus subscriptions starting August 25, 2026, after weeks of running only a weekly cap. Pro $100 and Pro $200 plans remain exempt from the change for the foreseeable future.
OpenAI is reinstating a five-hour usage limit for Codex and ChatGPT Work on its Plus subscription tier, effective August 25, 2026. The change reverses a temporary policy that had left Plus users subject only to a weekly usage cap for several weeks.
Thibault "Tibo" Sottiaux, OpenAI's engineering lead for Codex and ChatGPT, announced the reversal on X. According to Sottiaux, the five-hour cap serves two purposes: smoothing load on OpenAI's compute infrastructure so the company can keep weekly usage allowances generous, and preventing new or casual Plus users from unknowingly exhausting their entire weekly allotment in a single extended session.
"Users on the Plus plan are relatively casual and new users, but then also just accidentally eat through their whole week's usage and then are confused, making it not a great experience," Sottiaux wrote.
Under the restored system, once a Plus user hits either the five-hour or weekly limit, they can wait for the next reset cycle or purchase additional credits to continue working. OpenAI also says it occasionally issues free limit resets, and users can bank additional resets through promotions or referral programs.
Pro tiers unaffected — for now
OpenAI's Pro $100 and Pro $200 subscription plans will not have the five-hour limit re-enabled "for the upcoming months," according to Sottiaux. Enterprise and Edu accounts were not mentioned in the announcement; those tiers currently operate on a separate credit-based usage system rather than the time-window caps applied to Plus and Pro.
Background: the weekly-only experiment
OpenAI had lifted the five-hour limit for Codex and ChatGPT Work several weeks prior, leaving only the weekly cap in place. During that window, the company also issued several early resets of users' weekly usage to mark milestones, including surpassing another one million active users across the now-unified Codex and ChatGPT Work platforms. Sottiaux noted the reversal had been previously announced but postponed before now taking effect.
OpenAI has not disclosed specific numeric thresholds for either the five-hour or weekly limits, nor pricing for the additional credits users can purchase after hitting a cap.
What this means
This is a usage-policy adjustment, not a model or product change — no new capabilities, weights, or pricing tiers are introduced. The move signals that OpenAI's earlier weekly-only cap, while popular with power users, created enough compute-load and user-confusion problems that the company judged a rollback necessary for its highest-volume tier. Keeping Pro subscribers exempt suggests OpenAI is using pricing tiers as a lever to manage infrastructure strain: casual Plus users get tighter, more predictable rate limiting, while higher-paying Pro users retain more usage flexibility. For developers relying on Codex through a Plus subscription, this means budgeting work sessions around five-hour windows again rather than spreading usage freely across a full week.
Related Articles
OpenAI to watermark ChatGPT and Codex text in the EU with textGrain; API watermarking is opt-in worldwide
OpenAI will switch on invisible text watermarks called textGrain for ChatGPT and Codex users in the EU over the coming weeks. API watermarking will be opt-in worldwide, unlike Anthropic's mandatory approach for Claude. OpenAI's own data shows detection drops sharply when text is edited.
OpenAI launches GPT-6 in ChatGPT with 'Intelligent UI' and interactive answers; Sol for paid users, Luna for free
OpenAI is rolling out GPT-6 to all ChatGPT tiers, with paying users on GPT-6 Sol and free users on GPT-6 Luna. The release adds 'Intelligent UI,' which renders answers as interactive charts, buttons, forms and mini apps, and lets the model respond while still thinking. OpenAI claims this cuts wait times by 44 percent.
GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast Claims Up to 8x Faster Token Generation on NVIDIA Blackwell GPUs
GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast, running on NVIDIA Blackwell GPUs, is available now in the OpenAI API and to eligible ChatGPT Work and Codex users. NVIDIA says it generates tokens up to 8x faster than Astra Standard mode. Pricing and context window details were not disclosed in the source.
ChatGPT adds virtual try-on and Favorites in global shopping update built on Images 2.5
OpenAI launched two shopping features in ChatGPT globally on Thursday: a virtual try-on tool for clothing and accessories, and a Favorites function for saving products. OpenAI says both use its newly launched ChatGPT Images 2.5 model. Pricing and plan availability were not disclosed in the source reporting.
Comments
Loading...