OpenAI releases GPT-5.5 with faster token efficiency and improved context understanding
OpenAI released GPT-5.5, which completes tasks at the same difficulty level faster than GPT-5.4 while using significantly fewer tokens. The model is available to ChatGPT Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise users, with API access delayed due to required safeguards.
GPT-5.5 — Quick Specs
OpenAI releases GPT-5.5 with faster token efficiency and improved context understanding
OpenAI released GPT-5.5 on April 23, 2026, with the company claiming the model handles tasks faster than GPT-5.4 while using significantly fewer tokens for operations at the same difficulty level.
According to OpenAI's published data, the efficiency gains stem from improved contextual understanding. The model shows improvements across coding, computer use, scientific research, and document creation tasks.
Performance claims
OpenAI's internal benchmarks indicate GPT-5.5 completes same-difficulty tasks faster than GPT-5.4 with lower token consumption. The company states this pattern holds across multiple task types.
For agentic coding specifically, OpenAI claims GPT-5.5 demonstrates better performance in:
- Maintaining context across large codebases
- Reasoning through ambiguous system failures
- Verifying assumptions using available tools
- Propagating changes through related code
The company reports similar improvements in computer use tasks, attributing the gains to better intent understanding. OpenAI also claims reduced latency for document creation and other typically time-intensive operations.
Availability and access
GPT-5.5 is available starting April 23, 2026 to:
- ChatGPT Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise users
- Codex users across the same tiers
GPT-5.5 Pro (presumably a higher-capability variant) is available to Pro, Business, and Enterprise tiers only—excluding Plus users.
API access is not yet available. OpenAI stated APIs require "different safeguards" before release, but provided no timeline. The company says internal and external teams have tested the model for safety issues.
What this means
The claimed token efficiency improvements could reduce operational costs for users on metered plans, though OpenAI has not disclosed pricing changes. The focus on contextual understanding suggests the model may handle multi-step tasks and long conversations more reliably than GPT-5.4.
The delayed API release is notable—developers typically receive access alongside consumer products. The cited need for "different safeguards" may indicate concerns about automated or high-volume usage patterns that don't apply to the ChatGPT interface. Without API access or independent benchmarks, the performance claims remain unverified by third parties.
Related Articles
ChatGPT adds 4-digit PIN locked chats for Free, Go, Plus and Pro users, but without end-to-end encryption
OpenAI is gradually rolling out locked chats in ChatGPT, which hides selected conversations behind a 4-digit PIN. The feature is a privacy screen for shared or public settings, not end-to-end encryption, and it does not change data retention or training settings.
OpenAI's ChatGPT Chrome extension can now read your open tabs and control them via ChatGPT Work
OpenAI has upgraded its ChatGPT Chrome extension so ChatGPT can view your open tabs when you tag Chrome in the web or desktop app. The update also adds a sidebar with full conversation history and lets ChatGPT Work control tabs to fill forms, send messages, and download files.
OpenAI claims GPT-6 Astra passes 87.4% of MultiLangBench tests, 72% on COBOL
OpenAI says its models are now better at legacy languages including COBOL, Fortran and Visual Basic. On its own MultiLangBench suite, GPT-6 Astra averaged an 87.4% pass rate across 20 languages versus 26.8% for GPT-5.6 Sol, and GPT-6.1 Sol reached 97.9% accuracy on COBOL migration tasks.
OpenAI Python SDK 3.35.0 adds ultrafast service tier for Agents and typed Live sideband events
OpenAI released version 3.35.0 of its Python SDK on October 17, 2026. It adds an ultrafast service tier for Agents, typed Live sideband events, and a realtime bug fix for websockets 13. Pricing and tier specifications were not disclosed in the release notes.
Comments
Loading...