Google limits free Gemini app users to Flash-Lite from Oct. 9; AI Pro adds Deep Think
Starting October 9, Gemini app users without a Google AI subscription will be limited to Flash-Lite, losing access to Flash and Pro. AI Plus ($4.99/month) subscribers lose Pro, while AI Pro ($19.99/month) gains Deep Think, according to an updated Google support document.
Google will restrict which models free and AI Plus users can access in the Gemini app, with the first changes starting October 9, according to an updated Google support document reported by 9to5Google. Users without a Google AI subscription will be limited to Flash-Lite. Meanwhile, the $19.99/month AI Pro plan gains Deep Think.
What changes, by plan
Per the support document, as reported by 9to5Google, the model versions involved are Flash-Lite (3.5), Flash (3.6) and Pro (3.1). Access will break down as follows:
| Google AI plan | Flash-Lite | Flash | Pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| No plan (free) | Yes | No | No |
| AI Plus ($4.99/mo) | Yes | Yes | No |
| AI Pro ($19.99/mo) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| AI Ultra | Yes | Yes | Yes |
- Free users: From October 9, users who do not pay for Gemini lose access to Flash (3.6) and Pro (3.1).
- AI Plus subscribers: They keep Flash-Lite and Flash but lose Pro. Google says these subscribers will "receive an email that explains when these changes will take effect." A specific date for AI Plus was not given in the source.
- AI Pro and AI Ultra: There are no regressions for either tier.
Deep Think comes to AI Pro
AI Pro subscribers will get access to the Deep Think option, which Google describes as "maximum parallel reasoning." It is currently available only on the $99.99/month and $199.99/month plans. The source does not state an exact rollout date for Deep Think on AI Pro.
New effort levels
Google also appears to be adding "low," "medium," and "high" effort levels "for each available model" in October. Higher levels increase the model's ability to complete tasks and give more thorough answers, but they consume more of the user's usage limit. Today, the app offers a single option, "Extended thinking: Complex problem solving." The three tiers would match what is already available in Google AI Studio and Antigravity.
Context
The changes follow a compute-based usage change Google introduced in May. Google has not disclosed context window sizes or per-token pricing as part of this update. Those figures are not relevant to the consumer app plans, and the support document as reported does not include them. The details come from a support page rather than a formal announcement, so timing and specifics may change.
What this means
Google is shifting from limiting how much users can use Gemini to limiting which models they can use. Free and AI Plus users now sit at the bottom of a clearer capability ladder, while the $19.99 AI Pro plan becomes the entry point for both Pro-tier models and Deep Think. That pushes users who want top-tier reasoning toward a paid tier.
The effort levels point the same way. If higher effort draws down a user's limit faster, Google is giving subscribers a direct way to trade compute for quality, and making that trade-off visible. Matching AI Studio and Antigravity also gives developers and consumers a more consistent control across Google's products.
The $4.99 AI Plus tier takes the biggest hit relative to expectations, since it loses Pro entirely. Users on that plan who rely on Pro will need to decide whether to move to AI Pro or accept Flash. Free users, who lose Flash as well, will see the largest drop in capability.
Related Articles
Google may expand Gemini 'Call for Me' to personal calls, per Android Authority APK teardown
Android Authority reports that an APK teardown shows a 'Gemini Calling' intro screen, suggesting Google may extend its 'Call for Me' AI feature from business calls to personal ones. Google has not announced the feature, and the report notes it may never ship publicly.
Gemini app adds Map tool for location prompts on Android and iOS; '@' set to replace '/' for skills
Google has rolled out a "Map" tool in the Gemini app on Android and iOS that lets users select a location and attach it to a prompt. Separately, Google app beta 17.63 shows Gemini replacing the "/" skills shortcut with "@", a change that is not yet widely available.
Google launches Guided Vision in Gemini Live, giving real-time audio descriptions through the Android camera
Google began rolling out Guided Vision in Gemini Live on compatible Android devices on October 1, 2026. The feature uses the phone camera to give real-time audio descriptions of surroundings and objects, with follow-up questions supported. Google warns it should not be used for navigation or obstacle detection.
Amazon Bedrock adds Z.ai's 753B-parameter GLM 5.3 for eligible enterprise customers
Amazon Bedrock now offers GLM 5.3, Z.ai's 753B-parameter mixture-of-experts model, through managed APIs with cross-Region inference, prompt caching and service tiers. Access is limited to eligible enterprise customers. Pricing and context window were not disclosed in AWS's announcement.
Comments
Loading...