ChatGPT adds virtual try-on and Favorites in global shopping update built on Images 2.5
OpenAI launched two shopping features in ChatGPT globally on Thursday: a virtual try-on tool for clothing and accessories, and a Favorites function for saving products. OpenAI says both use its newly launched ChatGPT Images 2.5 model. Pricing and plan availability were not disclosed in the source reporting.
OpenAI launched virtual try-on and Favorites in ChatGPT globally on Thursday, adding two shopping features to the assistant. The company says both are powered by its newly launched ChatGPT Images 2.5 model.
What launched
Virtual try-on. Users upload a selfie or a full-body photo to see how a piece of clothing or an accessory might look on them. A new "try on" button appears in ChatGPT's shopping results. Users can also upload an image of an item, such as a screenshot from a retailer's website, and ask ChatGPT to show it on them.
Favorites. Users can save products they find to a Library in the app. Saved items sit alongside their try-on images, according to OpenAI.
Other shopping workflows
OpenAI also pointed to existing ways ChatGPT can assist with shopping:
- Describe a style, then ask ChatGPT to find the pieces needed to complete the look.
- Upload photos of a celebrity's outfit and ask ChatGPT to find the items worn that are available for purchase.
The second workflow puts ChatGPT in territory that Pinterest and Google have long held for fashion inspiration and discovery that converts to retail sales.
The model behind it
OpenAI claims ChatGPT Images 2.5 produces more natural lighting and richer textures, follows editing instructions more reliably, and reduces image generation latency. These are company claims. No benchmark scores, latency figures, or independent evaluations were provided in the announcement coverage.
What was not disclosed
- Which ChatGPT plans (free or paid) have access to try-on, and whether usage limits apply
- Pricing or API availability for Images 2.5
- How uploaded selfies and full-body photos are stored, retained, or used for training
- Which retailers or product catalogs are supported in try-on results
Context
OpenAI has already pulled back from one shopping idea. An instant checkout feature did not perform well, and the company pivoted away from it. Elsewhere in the category, agentic AI startup Instinct began pushing product recommendations to users. Some users felt the proactive suggestions were an overreach, closer to ads than help. Google launched its own virtual try-on last year, so OpenAI is entering a space where a major competitor already has a product.
What this means
The features are a consumer-facing showcase for Images 2.5's editing fidelity. Try-on tests whether a model can keep a person's likeness and body proportions consistent while rendering fabric, fit, and lighting. That is a harder test than text-to-image generation from scratch.
The strategy is also notable. After the checkout setback, OpenAI is focusing on discovery and visualization, which come before purchase, rather than on transactions. Favorites and the Library also give ChatGPT a persistent, return-to surface for shopping, which a single chat session does not provide.
The open questions are privacy and distribution. Body photos are more sensitive than typical prompts, and OpenAI has not detailed its handling of them in the coverage available. Google also has a year's head start on try-on, along with deep retailer integrations through its shopping products. Whether users choose ChatGPT first for fashion discovery remains unproven.
Related Articles
OpenAI Turns ChatGPT Into an App Store With 4,000+ Apps, Autonomous Agents, and Shared Identity Login
OpenAI announced a suite of Dev Day features—including in-chat app discovery, 'Sign in with ChatGPT,' autonomous Dots agents, and a new enterprise app marketplace—aimed at making ChatGPT a distribution channel that rivals Apple and Google's app stores. The company says ChatGPT now has 1.2 billion weekly users and connects to over 4,000 apps.
OpenAI Launches Dots, Always-On AI Agents Powered by GPT-6 Astra
OpenAI announced Dots at DevDay 2026, always-on AI agents that run on their own cloud computer and can be assigned tasks via ChatGPT, Slack, or Teams. Powered by GPT-6 Astra, Dots are available today to Pro and Business Premium subscribers.
OpenAI Launches ChatGPT Workspace Suite With Space, Pages, and Collaborative Slides to Challenge Microsoft
OpenAI announced Space, a shared ChatGPT workspace, alongside Pages (a document editor) and collaborative slides at its Dev Day conference. The features let coworkers and AI agent personas called Dots collaborate on documents, spreadsheets, and presentations directly inside ChatGPT.
OpenAI launches Dots agent on GPT-6 Astra, limited to $20/month Pro tier and above
OpenAI unveiled Dots at DevDay 2026, a personal agent powered by GPT-6 Astra, available for now only on its $20/month Pro plan and above. Meta's rival Muse agent is free for anyone with a Meta account. OpenAI is positioning Dots as a long-horizon, knowledge-work tool with stronger privacy controls.
Comments
Loading...