product updateApple

Apple waives cloud API fees for developers under 2M downloads using Private Cloud Compute

TL;DR

Apple announced it will waive cloud API fees for developers with fewer than 2 million first-time App Store downloads who use its Foundation Models running in Private Cloud Compute. The company also expanded its Foundation Models framework to include image input and support for server models from third-party cloud providers.

2 min read
0

Apple waives cloud API fees for developers under 2M downloads using Private Cloud Compute

Apple will eliminate cloud API costs for developers with fewer than 2 million first-time App Store downloads who use its Foundation Models running in Private Cloud Compute, the company announced at its Worldwide Developers Conference on Monday.

The move targets indie developers similarly to Apple's Small Business Program, which offers reduced commission rates to smaller app creators. "It's access to frontier-tier level intelligence with unparalleled privacy protections, because getting started exploring ideas shouldn't be held back by infrastructure costs," according to Apple's presentation.

Framework expansion

Apple's Foundation Models framework now includes image input support and integration with third-party cloud model providers. The API can connect to developers' chosen cloud model provider for more complex tasks that require larger models beyond Apple's own infrastructure.

The company positioned this as making large cloud models "as accessible as possible" for developers who need additional capabilities.

Industry context

The announcement reflects mounting pressure on AI infrastructure costs across the industry. Meta and Amazon have both discontinued internal AI token usage leaderboards where developers previously competed on AI tool experimentation. Uber recently disclosed it consumed its entire 2026 AI budget within four months.

Pricing details for developers exceeding the 2 million download threshold were not disclosed. Apple did not specify which Foundation Models are included in the program or provide benchmark scores for its models.

What this means

Apple is using its ecosystem leverage to subsidize AI experimentation for smaller developers, betting that reducing friction will drive adoption of its AI infrastructure. The 2 million download threshold creates a clear on-ramp for indie developers while maintaining revenue from larger studios. By opening the framework to third-party cloud providers, Apple acknowledges its models alone won't meet all developer needs—a pragmatic stance that contrasts with more closed AI platforms. The timing aligns with broader industry cost-cutting around AI experimentation, suggesting even large players are reassessing unsustainable burn rates.

Related Articles

product update

OpenAI Lists GPT-6 Astra Pro on OpenRouter: Same Model, Higher-Compute Reasoning Mode

GPT-6 Astra Pro, now listed on OpenRouter, is the existing GPT-6 Astra model configured to run with reasoning.mode set to 'pro' for higher-quality output on complex tasks. It carries a 1M-token context window and tiered pricing from $5/$25 to $20/$100 per million input/output tokens depending on the serving tier.

product update

xAI Brings Grok Bot to iPad and Android, Cuts Price From $300/Month to $20/Month

xAI has expanded its Grok Bot AI agent app from iPhone and Mac to iPad and Android, while slashing the price from $300/month to compatibility with the $20/month Cursor Pro plan. Enterprise customers using Grok or Cursor get free access for a limited time.

product update

OpenRouter Adds Auto-Updating Alias for Zhipu AI's GLM Flash Model Family

Z.ai has published GLM Flash Latest on OpenRouter, a routing alias that automatically points to the newest checkpoint in the GLM Flash lineup. It supports a 1.31M token context window and multimodal text, image, and video input at $0.07 per 1M input tokens and $0.25 per 1M output tokens.

product update

xAI's Grok Bot Turns Agent Setup Into a Login Screen, No Code Required

xAI's Grok Bot lets users connect agents to services like X, Google Calendar, and Freshdesk through a simple browser login instead of API keys or MCP configuration. A five-day hands-on report compares it to OpenClaw 2.0, released the same week, framing the two as a managed agent computer versus a user-owned agent platform.

Comments

Loading...