xAI Launches Grok Build 0.1: Coding Model with 256K Context for Agentic Workflows
xAI has released Grok Build 0.1, a coding-specialized model with a 256K context window and unlimited text output. The model is designed for agentic software engineering workflows and powers xAI's Grok Build CLI tool.
Grok Build 0.1 — Quick Specs
xAI Launches Grok Build 0.1: Coding Model with 256K Context for Agentic Workflows
xAI has released Grok Build 0.1, a coding-specialized language model with a 256K token context window and no text output limit, according to the company.
Model Specifications
Grok Build 0.1 accepts both text and image inputs while generating text output. The model is currently in early access and available through OpenRouter's API platform.
Key specifications:
- Context window: 256K tokens
- Output limit: None
- Modalities: Text and image input, text output
- Release date: May 20, 2025 (according to OpenRouter listing)
- Pricing: Not yet disclosed
Purpose-Built for Coding Agents
xAI claims the model is "trained specifically for agentic software engineering workflows." The company positions it as optimized for:
- Interactive coding agents
- Tool use and function calling
- Multi-step development tasks
- Long-horizon coding projects
- Automation workflows
The model powers xAI's Grok Build CLI, a command-line interface tool for developers.
Technical Context
The 256K context window places Grok Build 0.1 in the upper tier of commercially available models, matching capabilities from Anthropic's Claude 3 series and Google's Gemini 1.5 models. The unlimited output generation is notable for coding use cases where generating complete files or large code blocks is common.
xAI has not disclosed benchmark scores, parameter count, or training data details. The company also has not specified whether this model is a variant of its existing Grok-2 architecture or represents a new model family.
What This Means
Grok Build 0.1 represents xAI's first model explicitly targeting the coding assistant and agentic development market, competing directly with OpenAI's o1 models, Anthropic's Claude family, and Google's Gemini for Developers. The emphasis on "agentic workflows" and CLI integration suggests xAI is pursuing the emerging category of autonomous coding agents rather than traditional code completion. Without pricing information or benchmark data, it remains unclear how Grok Build 0.1 compares to existing alternatives in performance or cost-effectiveness. The early access designation indicates limited availability as xAI likely refines the model based on developer feedback.
Related Articles
Unbiased releases Pareto 26.10 Preview: 1M context, $0.80/$3.20 per 1M tokens on OpenRouter
Unbiased has listed Pareto 26.10 Preview on OpenRouter, a multimodal composite model with a 1.0M-token context window priced at $0.80 input and $3.20 output per 1M tokens. The company says it targets research, coding, and agentic workflows, and warns the preview may change without notice. No benchmark scores have been published.
inclusionAI releases Ling 3.1 Flash: 560B MoE, 25B active, 262K context, free on OpenRouter
inclusionAI has released Ling 3.1 Flash, a hybrid reasoning mixture-of-experts model with 560B total and 25B active parameters and a 262K-token context window. It is listed as free on OpenRouter through NovitaAI. No benchmark scores have been published on the listing.
Google Releases Gemini 4 Argon to Cybersecurity Partners, Claims Wins Over GPT-6 Astra
Google has released Gemini 4 Argon, its next-generation flagship AI model, to a small group of cybersecurity partners as part of a phased rollout. The company claims the model outperforms OpenAI's GPT-6 Astra on several coding and knowledge-work benchmarks, though full specifications remain undisclosed.
Google DeepMind Releases Gemini 4 Argon, Expands Output Limit to 1M Tokens
Google DeepMind has released Gemini 4 Argon, a frontier model built for long-horizon reasoning with an industry-leading 1 million output token limit. The model is rolling out first to trusted cyber defenders through Google's Fairwind Program, with pricing set at $2 per million input tokens and $10 per million output tokens.
Comments
Loading...