product updateReplit

Replit ships iPhone app update with Agent 4 after four-month App Store review delay

TL;DR

Replit released its first iPhone app update in four months after resolving App Store review issues with Apple. The update brings Agent 4, the company's latest AI coding assistant, along with parallel agent support and cross-workspace project viewing.

2 min read
0

Replit ships iPhone app update with Agent 4 after four-month App Store review delay

Replit released its first iPhone app update in four months on May 14, 2026, after resolving App Store review issues that prevented the company from shipping new versions since January.

Replit CEO Amjad Masad confirmed the resolution on X: "We worked things out with Apple, and just published our app for the first time in four months." The dispute, which surfaced publicly in March, reportedly centered on how AI-generated apps were previewed on iPhone, though specific details of the resolution were not disclosed.

What's new in the update

The update brings Agent 4, Replit's latest AI coding assistant unveiled in March, to the mobile platform. According to Replit, Agent 4 is designed for creative development workflows.

New features include:

  • Parallel agents that work on multiple tasks simultaneously
  • Team collaboration through merge flows
  • Cross-workspace project viewing
  • Import functionality from competing platforms including Lovable, Base44, and V0

Replit is offering free mobile app generation and App Store deployment for imported projects as a limited-time promotion to attract users from other AI coding platforms.

Industry context

The four-month review delay highlights ongoing friction between AI development tools and Apple's App Store policies. The March dispute emerged as Apple increasingly scrutinizes apps that generate or modify code through AI, though the company has not published specific guidelines on AI-generated application previews.

Apple's annual developer conference begins June 8, where the company may announce new App Store policies related to AI agents and code generation tools.

What this means

The resolution allows Replit to maintain its mobile presence as AI coding assistants become increasingly central to developer workflows. However, the four-month gap demonstrates the regulatory uncertainty facing companies building AI-powered development tools on closed platforms. The outcome suggests Apple may be developing clearer policies for AI coding apps rather than blocking them entirely, but developers should expect continued scrutiny as the technology evolves.

Related Articles

product update

Google limits free Gemini app users to Flash-Lite from Oct. 9; AI Pro adds Deep Think

Starting October 9, Gemini app users without a Google AI subscription will be limited to Flash-Lite, losing access to Flash and Pro. AI Plus ($4.99/month) subscribers lose Pro, while AI Pro ($19.99/month) gains Deep Think, according to an updated Google support document.

product update

Anthropic adds Mods to Claude Code, a plugin system that hooks into tool calls, prompts and UI rendering

Anthropic released Mods for Claude Code, a plugin system built on JavaScript and TypeScript functions that hook into events such as tool calls, user prompts and UI rendering. Mods are not sandboxed and run with the user's permissions. They work in the CLI, the desktop app and, partly, the VS Code extension.

product update

Meta launches Muse Gadgets, open-source firmware and Linux SDK for building hardware that connects to its Muse agent

Meta introduced Muse Gadgets on Friday, an open-source project with firmware and a Linux SDK for building hardware that connects to its Muse personal AI agent. Meta also built a first-party device, Muse Home Link, and says it is giving away 5,000 units to Muse subscribers.

product update

Suno adds Speech beta: spoken text and matching background music generated as a single audio track

Suno has added Speech, a beta feature that generates spoken text and matching background music together as a single audio track. Suno says it tested the feature with a small group for a month. The company has not disclosed how the underlying model was trained.

Comments

Loading...