product update

Rabbit Launches OS3, a Cloud-Based AI Agent That Runs Without the R1 Device

TL;DR

Rabbit is rolling out OS3, a standalone AI agent that runs across Windows, Mac, and Linux devices without requiring its R1 hardware. The company has stopped manufacturing the R1 and is instead building a new 'cyberdeck' device to run OS3.

2 min read
0

Rabbit is decoupling its AI agent from the hardware that made it famous. The startup behind the widely panned R1 device is rolling out OS3, an "agentic operating system" that runs in the cloud but operates locally across Windows, Mac, and Linux computers—no R1 required.

The news was first reported by Wired.

How OS3 Works

According to Rabbit, users can link up to five devices to a single account, along with their preferred AI models. OS3 automatically determines which devices, files, apps, and AI models it needs to complete a given task, distributing work across a user's connected hardware.

Access isn't limited to a desktop client. Rabbit says OS3 can also be reached through a dedicated desktop website, paired messaging apps like Telegram and iMessage, and—for those who still own one—the original R1 device.

R1 Production Has Stopped

Rabbit founder Jesse Lyu told Wired that the company has stopped manufacturing the R1, the standalone AI gadget that launched in 2024 to significant hype and subsequently harsh reviews over sluggish performance and limited functionality. Lyu says Rabbit isn't abandoning hardware entirely, however. The company is developing a new "vibe-coding" device, described as a "cyberdeck," that will run OS3 when it ships within "months," according to Wired.

Data Handling Claims

Rabbit claims OS3 will not store, copy, use, or sell user data. The company notes an exception: chats and the memories generated from them will still be retained on Rabbit's servers. Any third-party AI models or providers connected through OS3 will handle user data according to their own separate privacy policies—meaning Rabbit's no-data-sale pledge doesn't necessarily extend to every model a user chooses to plug in.

Pricing for OS3 has not yet been disclosed, and Rabbit has not specified which third-party AI models are compatible with the platform at launch.

What this means

Rabbit's pivot away from dedicated hardware is a tacit admission that the R1's value was never really the device—it was the software layer trying to orchestrate AI tasks across a user's digital life. By making OS3 hardware-agnostic, Rabbit can chase a much larger addressable market of existing Windows, Mac, and Linux users rather than betting on selling more standalone gadgets that didn't sell well the first time.

The move also puts Rabbit in more direct competition with a growing field of desktop AI agents and orchestration layers from larger players, none of which carry the baggage of a rocky hardware launch. Whether OS3 can differentiate itself on capability alone, without a novel physical form factor to generate press, is the real test. The claimed data protections also deserve scrutiny given the carve-out for third-party model providers—users connecting their own AI models will inherit whatever privacy practices those providers maintain.

Related Articles

product update

Google builds Antigravity into Gemini app for macOS, limited to AI Ultra subscribers

Google has integrated Antigravity, its agent-first development platform, directly into the Gemini app for macOS as part of the Gemini 4 Argon rollout. Access requires an AI Ultra subscription, while the new model itself requires AI Pro or above. The update also renames and reorganizes several app features, including Gemini Spark, Skills and Connectors.

product update

Google DeepMind: Gemini 4 Argon scores 87% on ERQA embodied reasoning, targets full robotics stack

Google DeepMind says Gemini 4 Argon scores 87% on the Embodied Reasoning (ERQA) benchmark using pure reasoning, ahead of every other frontier model. A new robotics post demonstrates robot control, Real2Sim reconstruction, physical understanding, and self-improvement workflows. Pricing, context window, and availability were not disclosed.

product update

Gemini 4 Argon expands to Google AI Pro subscribers; API priced at $2/$10 per 1M tokens

Google is extending Gemini 4 Argon from AI Ultra to AI Pro subscribers in the Gemini app and AI Mode. The Gemini API costs $2 per 1M input tokens and $10 per 1M output tokens until November 30, 2026, then doubles to $4 and $20.

product update

Cline v4.1.24 defaults to Claude Sonnet 5.5 and adds Claude Haiku 5.5 to its model catalog

Cline v4.1.24 makes Claude Sonnet 5.5 the default model for the Cline and OpenRouter providers when no model is selected. The release also adds Claude Haiku 5.5 and three new providers, and fixes reasoning-off 400 errors on several models plus an auto-compaction token-count bug.

Comments

Loading...

Rabbit OS3: AI Agent Now Works Without R1 Hardware | TPS