product updateOpenAI

OpenAI Reaffirms Zero Data Retention for API Customers, Previews Private Safety Processing

TL;DR

OpenAI has reaffirmed its Zero Data Retention (ZDR) policy for eligible API customers using frontier models and previewed a new feature called Private Safety Processing, which the company claims allows safety monitoring without retaining customer data.

2 min read
0

OpenAI has reaffirmed its commitment to Zero Data Retention (ZDR) for eligible API customers accessing its frontier models, and previewed a new capability called Private Safety Processing designed to let the company run safety checks without storing customer inputs or outputs.

Zero Data Retention is an existing OpenAI API policy that lets qualifying enterprise customers process requests without OpenAI storing prompts or completions after the response is returned. Eligibility has historically been limited to organizations that meet specific usage and compliance criteria, determined on a case-by-case basis through OpenAI's sales team.

What's new

According to OpenAI, the reaffirmation clarifies that ZDR remains available for its most capable models — the frontier tier — as those models are updated and deployed. The company also previewed Private Safety Processing, which it describes as a method for detecting policy violations and safety issues in API traffic without OpenAI retaining the underlying customer data used to make that determination.

OpenAI has not disclosed technical details on how Private Safety Processing works — whether it relies on on-device or client-side classification, ephemeral in-memory processing, cryptographic techniques, or some other architecture. No benchmark data, false-positive rates, or latency figures were provided in the announcement.

Pricing for ZDR-eligible API access is not disclosed publicly; access has typically required direct negotiation with OpenAI's enterprise sales organization rather than standard self-serve API pricing.

Why this matters for enterprises

Data retention policies are a recurring blocker for regulated industries — finance, healthcare, legal, and government — considering deployment of frontier LLMs via API. Standard OpenAI API usage, outside of ZDR agreements, has historically involved temporary retention of inputs and outputs for abuse monitoring, typically up to 30 days, before deletion.

The tension OpenAI is attempting to address here is real: safety and abuse monitoring generally requires some visibility into content, which conflicts with strict no-retention requirements from privacy-sensitive customers. Private Safety Processing is OpenAI's proposed answer to that tension, though as a preview, it is not yet generally available and its actual guarantees remain unverified by outside auditors.

Competitors including Anthropic and Google DeepMind have offered their own enterprise data handling commitments, including no-training-on-customer-data guarantees and regional data residency options, so OpenAI's move is best read as a competitive parity play in the enterprise sales cycle rather than a novel technical breakthrough.

What this means

This is a policy and trust-and-safety announcement, not a model release — no new weights, benchmarks, or pricing tiers accompany it. The practical impact will depend entirely on details OpenAI has not yet published: how Private Safety Processing is implemented, whether it can be independently audited, and how broadly ZDR eligibility will actually extend beyond OpenAI's existing enterprise contracts. Until OpenAI publishes technical documentation or third-party audits, enterprise buyers should treat these as commitments to evaluate during contract negotiation rather than settled guarantees.

Related Articles

analysis

Ramp AI Index: US business AI spending falls while usage rises about 50% from July peak

US companies are spending less on AI even as usage hit a record high at the end of September, according to the latest Ramp AI Index. Ramp economist Ara Kharazian attributes the drop almost entirely to price competition between OpenAI and Anthropic. In the last week of September, Anthropic took 51% of token spending and OpenAI 44.5%.

product update

OpenAI launches Dots agent on GPT-6 Astra, limited to $20/month Pro tier and above

OpenAI unveiled Dots at DevDay 2026, a personal agent powered by GPT-6 Astra, available for now only on its $20/month Pro plan and above. Meta's rival Muse agent is free for anyone with a Meta account. OpenAI is positioning Dots as a long-horizon, knowledge-work tool with stronger privacy controls.

product update

OpenAI publishes startup guide for GPT-6 family covering model choice, reasoning effort and tool coordination

OpenAI has published "A model guide for the GPT-6 family," a practical guide aimed at startups. It covers choosing GPT-6 models, tuning reasoning effort, improving prompts and skills, coordinating tools, and preparing workflows for production. The summary gives no pricing, context window or benchmark figures.

analysis

OpenAI publishes startup guide to choosing and deploying GPT-6 models, with reasoning-effort tuning

OpenAI has published a practical guide for startups building on the GPT-6 family. It covers model selection, reasoning effort, prompts and skills, tool coordination, and production workflows. The available summary discloses no pricing, context window, or benchmark figures.

Comments

Loading...