analysis

OpenAI Launches GPT-5.6 Series with Five Model Variants

TL;DR

OpenAI has released five variants of GPT-5.6, according to listings on OpenRouter. The new series includes Pro and standard versions named Sol, Terra, and Luna, though official specifications and pricing remain undisclosed.

2 min read
0

OpenAI Launches GPT-5.6 Series with Five Model Variants

OpenAI has released five variants of a new model series designated GPT-5.6, according to listings on the OpenRouter API marketplace. The models are named Sol Pro, Terra Pro, Luna Pro, Terra, and Luna.

What We Know

The five models appear on OpenRouter's platform:

  • GPT-5.6 Sol Pro
  • GPT-5.6 Terra Pro
  • GPT-5.6 Luna Pro
  • GPT-5.6 Terra
  • GPT-5.6 Luna

The naming convention suggests a tiered structure with "Pro" variants offering enhanced capabilities compared to standard versions. The celestial naming scheme (Sol for sun, Terra for earth, Luna for moon) may indicate different specializations or performance levels.

Missing Information

Critical specifications remain unavailable:

  • Context window sizes not disclosed
  • Pricing per 1M tokens not published
  • Benchmark scores unavailable
  • Parameter counts unknown
  • Training data cutoff dates not specified
  • Release date unconfirmed
  • Official OpenAI announcement absent

No official press release or blog post from OpenAI confirms these releases. The models appear exclusively through OpenRouter listings at time of publication.

Model Availability

All five variants are listed as accessible through OpenRouter's API routing service, which aggregates models from multiple providers. OpenRouter typically lists models shortly after they become available through official API endpoints.

What This Means

The simultaneous release of five model variants represents an unusual strategy if confirmed. Major AI labs typically release one or two models at a time with detailed documentation. The absence of official specifications, benchmarks, and OpenAI communication makes it impossible to assess these models' capabilities or intended use cases. Users should wait for official OpenAI documentation before drawing conclusions about performance or pricing. The celestial naming differs from OpenAI's recent naming patterns (GPT-4, o1, o3), raising questions about whether this represents a new product line or an alternative designation system.

Related Articles

analysis

Three Unverified 'GPT-6' Model Listings Appear on OpenRouter: Sol Pro, Luna, and Luna Pro

Three model pages bearing the names GPT-6 Sol Pro, GPT-6 Luna, and GPT-6 Luna Pro have surfaced on OpenRouter's site, but OpenAI has issued no official announcement confirming these as real releases. No pricing, benchmark scores, or context window figures have been disclosed.

analysis

Xiaomi Lists Three New MiMo-V2.6 Models on OpenRouter: Pro, Flash, and Pro-UltraSpeed

Xiaomi has added three new entries to its MiMo model family on OpenRouter: MiMo-V2.6-Pro, MiMo-V2.6-Flash, and MiMo-V2.6-Pro-UltraSpeed. Full specifications, pricing, and benchmark results have not yet been disclosed.

analysis

Three Unlisted Model Codenames — 'GPT Terra', 'GPT Sol', 'GPT Astra' — Surface on OpenRouter, Not Confirmed by OpenAI

Three model identifiers — gpt-terra-latest, gpt-sol-latest, and gpt-astra-latest — appeared as OpenRouter listing pages under an '~openai' namespace, but no official OpenAI announcement, specs, or pricing accompany them. The listings' authenticity and meaning remain unverified.

analysis

GLM-5.3-Flash and Qwen3.8-Flash-Next Appear on Hugging Face With No Model Cards or Benchmarks Yet Published

Three Hugging Face repositories tied to next-generation GLM and Qwen model lines have appeared online: zai-org/GLM-5.3-Flash, Qwen/Qwen3.8-Flash-Next, and a community GGUF quantization from unsloth. None currently ship with a completed model card, published benchmarks, or pricing.

Comments

Loading...