OpenAI releases GPT-5.5 with improved coding efficiency, fewer tokens needed
OpenAI has released GPT-5.5, one month after GPT-5.4, claiming improved performance on coding tasks and reduced token usage in its Codex platform. The model rolls out April 24 to paid ChatGPT tiers.
GPT-5.5 — Quick Specs
OpenAI releases GPT-5.5 with improved coding efficiency, fewer tokens needed
OpenAI released GPT-5.5 on April 23, 2026, one month after shipping GPT-5.4. The company claims the model "excels" at writing and debugging code, conducting research, and working across multiple tools while using "significantly fewer" tokens to complete tasks in Codex.
Pricing and availability
GPT-5.5 begins rolling out April 24 to ChatGPT Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise subscribers, as well as Codex users. A GPT-5.5 Pro version will be available to Pro, Business, and Enterprise tiers. Specific pricing details were not disclosed.
Claimed capabilities
According to OpenAI, GPT-5.5 can handle "messy, multi-part" tasks with less explicit instruction than previous models. The company claims users can provide complex requests and the model will "plan, use tools, check its work, navigate through ambiguity, and keep going" without constant human guidance.
OpenAI states GPT-5.5 includes its "strongest set of safeguards to date," though specific technical details about these safety features were not provided.
Token efficiency
The company highlighted reduced token consumption specifically for Codex, its code-focused platform. No specific benchmark comparisons or percentage reductions were disclosed.
Industry context
The release intensifies competition between OpenAI and Anthropic ahead of potential IPOs later in 2026. Anthropic recently shipped Claude Opus 4.7 and announced Mythos Preview, a non-public model focused on cybersecurity. OpenAI responded with GPT-5.4-Cyber, trained to identify security vulnerabilities.
Both companies are competing for enterprise and AI coding markets. OpenAI has reportedly cut what it calls "side quests" to focus on higher-revenue products.
What this means
The one-month gap between GPT-5.4 and GPT-5.5 represents an unusually rapid release cycle, suggesting OpenAI is prioritizing speed to market over longer development windows. The emphasis on token efficiency directly addresses a major cost factor for enterprise customers running coding workloads. Without published benchmarks or third-party testing, the actual performance improvements remain unverified. The competitive pressure from Anthropic appears to be driving faster iteration, though whether these quick releases deliver meaningful technical advances or incremental improvements is unclear until independent testing occurs.
Related Articles
ChatGPT adds 4-digit PIN locked chats for Free, Go, Plus and Pro users, but without end-to-end encryption
OpenAI is gradually rolling out locked chats in ChatGPT, which hides selected conversations behind a 4-digit PIN. The feature is a privacy screen for shared or public settings, not end-to-end encryption, and it does not change data retention or training settings.
OpenAI claims GPT-6 Astra passes 87.4% of MultiLangBench tests, 72% on COBOL
OpenAI says its models are now better at legacy languages including COBOL, Fortran and Visual Basic. On its own MultiLangBench suite, GPT-6 Astra averaged an 87.4% pass rate across 20 languages versus 26.8% for GPT-5.6 Sol, and GPT-6.1 Sol reached 97.9% accuracy on COBOL migration tasks.
Inception launches Mercury 3 diffusion LLM: 1M context, 1,068 tokens/sec, $0.20/$0.70 per 1M tokens
Inception released Mercury 3, a diffusion-based LLM with a 1M-token context window that it says runs at 1,068 tokens per second on NVIDIA GPUs. Pricing is $0.20 per 1M input and $0.70 per 1M output tokens, with a 50% launch discount. Inception claims quality on par with or better than GPT-6 Luna and Claude Haiku 5.5 at 4–8x the speed.
OpenAI Python SDK 3.35.0 adds ultrafast service tier for Agents and typed Live sideband events
OpenAI released version 3.35.0 of its Python SDK on October 17, 2026. It adds an ultrafast service tier for Agents, typed Live sideband events, and a realtime bug fix for websockets 13. Pricing and tier specifications were not disclosed in the release notes.
Comments
Loading...