product updateOpenAI

OpenAI brings Codex coding agent to iOS and Android with remote environment monitoring

TL;DR

OpenAI has integrated its Codex coding agent into the ChatGPT mobile app for iOS and Android, allowing developers to monitor live development environments and manage workflows from their phones. The update, announced May 14, 2026, is now available in preview across all ChatGPT plans.

2 min read
0

OpenAI brings Codex coding agent to iOS and Android with remote environment monitoring

OpenAI integrated its Codex coding agent into the ChatGPT mobile app for iOS and Android on May 14, 2026, allowing developers to monitor and control their development environments remotely. The feature is available in preview across all ChatGPT plans.

Remote environment access

The mobile integration lets users view Codex live environments running on any device, according to OpenAI. "From your phone, you can work across all of your threads, review outputs, approve commands, change models, or start something new," the company stated.

OpenAI describes the functionality as beyond simple task dispatch: users can manage multiple development threads, review code outputs, approve commands, and switch between models from their mobile devices.

Recent Codex expansions

OpenAI launched Codex approximately one year ago. In April 2026, the company added background execution capabilities for desktop environments, allowing the tool to handle tasks autonomously. Earlier in May 2026, OpenAI released a Chrome extension enabling Codex to operate within live browser sessions.

Competition with Anthropic

Anthropic released a comparable feature called Remote Control in February 2026, which enables users to monitor Claude Code's operations remotely. The parallel feature releases reflect intensifying competition between OpenAI and Anthropic over market share in agentic coding tools.

According to TechCrunch, Claude Code has gained popularity among businesses and technical professionals over the past year, though both tools maintain substantial user bases.

What this means

The mobile expansion represents OpenAI's strategy to make coding agents accessible beyond traditional desktop workflows. By enabling developers to monitor and adjust code execution from mobile devices, OpenAI addresses a practical constraint: developers often need to check on long-running tasks or approve commands while away from their primary workstations. The timing—closely following Anthropic's Remote Control release—indicates both companies recognize remote monitoring as a critical feature for enterprise adoption of autonomous coding agents.

Related Articles

product update

Gemini app adds Map tool for location prompts on Android and iOS; '@' set to replace '/' for skills

Google has rolled out a "Map" tool in the Gemini app on Android and iOS that lets users select a location and attach it to a prompt. Separately, Google app beta 17.63 shows Gemini replacing the "/" skills shortcut with "@", a change that is not yet widely available.

analysis

Ramp AI Index: US business AI spending falls while usage rises about 50% from July peak

US companies are spending less on AI even as usage hit a record high at the end of September, according to the latest Ramp AI Index. Ramp economist Ara Kharazian attributes the drop almost entirely to price competition between OpenAI and Anthropic. In the last week of September, Anthropic took 51% of token spending and OpenAI 44.5%.

product update

GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast Claims Up to 8x Faster Token Generation on NVIDIA Blackwell GPUs

GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast, running on NVIDIA Blackwell GPUs, is available now in the OpenAI API and to eligible ChatGPT Work and Codex users. NVIDIA says it generates tokens up to 8x faster than Astra Standard mode. Pricing and context window details were not disclosed in the source.

product update

ChatGPT adds virtual try-on and Favorites in global shopping update built on Images 2.5

OpenAI launched two shopping features in ChatGPT globally on Thursday: a virtual try-on tool for clothing and accessories, and a Favorites function for saving products. OpenAI says both use its newly launched ChatGPT Images 2.5 model. Pricing and plan availability were not disclosed in the source reporting.

Comments

Loading...