Moondream 3 Preview lists on OpenRouter: 9B MoE vision model, 2B active, 32K context, $0.30/$2.50
Moondream 3 Preview is a vision-language model with 9B total and 2B active parameters (mixture-of-experts), a 32K-token context window and an optional reasoning mode. OpenRouter lists it at $0.30 per 1M input tokens and $2.50 per 1M output tokens, served by Prime Intellect.
Moondream 3 Preview — Quick Specs
Moondream 3 Preview, a vision-language model with 9B total parameters and 2B active per token, is listed on OpenRouter at $0.30 per 1M input tokens and $2.50 per 1M output tokens. It has a 32K-token context window and an optional reasoning mode.
Specifications
| Spec | Detail |
|---|---|
| Developer | Moondream |
| Architecture | Mixture-of-experts (MoE) |
| Total parameters | 9B |
| Active parameters | 2B |
| Context window | 32K tokens |
| Input price | $0.30 per 1M tokens |
| Output price | $2.50 per 1M tokens |
| Release date (per OpenRouter listing) | Oct 15, 2026 |
| Reasoning mode | Optional |
According to the listing, the model handles visual question answering, image captioning, OCR and visual reasoning over images. The page links to model weights. It does not state a license in the text available, so licensing terms are not confirmed here.
Serving performance
Prime Intellect is the only provider shown on the OpenRouter page. It lists the following figures at the same $0.30 / $2.50 pricing:
- P50 latency: 0.33 seconds
- Throughput: 208 tokens per second
OpenRouter's uptime figures for the model were not populated, and the page reports not enough data on apps using it yet. These are OpenRouter's measurements of its listed provider, not independent benchmarks.
What is not disclosed
The listing gives no benchmark scores, so there are no published numbers for VQA, OCR or captioning accuracy to compare against other vision-language models. The training data cutoff, the expert count and the routing configuration are also not disclosed. The "Preview" label suggests the weights and behavior may change before a stable release.
The same page lists Moondream 3.1 as a successor to Moondream 3 Preview. Its listed specifications match the preview: 9B total parameters, 2B active, 32K context, optional reasoning mode and $0.30 / $2.50 pricing. The listing does not say what changed between the two versions.
What this means
The notable design choice is the active-parameter count. A 9B MoE that activates 2B parameters per token should have per-token compute closer to a small dense model, while keeping more total capacity. Whether that translates into accuracy is unknown without benchmarks, and Moondream has not published any in this listing.
The pricing is asymmetric. Output tokens cost about 8.3 times as much as input tokens. Image-heavy workloads such as OCR and captioning, which send many input tokens and return few, are priced more favorably than workloads that produce long outputs. Enabling the reasoning mode will likely raise output token counts and therefore cost, though the listing does not quantify this.
With a single provider listed, there is no routing redundancy yet. Teams considering production use should wait for multiple providers or run their own deployment from the released weights. The appearance of Moondream 3.1 under the same listing also suggests that the preview may be short-lived, so developers should plan for version changes.
Related Articles
Moondream 3.1: 9B MoE vision model with 2B active parameters, 32K context, $0.30/$2.50 per 1M tokens
Moondream has released Moondream 3.1, a mixture-of-experts vision-language model with 9B total and 2B active parameters and a 32K-token context window. It is listed on OpenRouter at $0.30 per 1M input tokens and $2.50 per 1M output tokens, with an optional reasoning mode.
Nvidia releases Nemotron 3.5 Super VL: open 120B multimodal MoE with 12B active parameters
Nvidia has released Nemotron 3.5 Super VL, an open multimodal Mixture-of-Experts model with 120 billion total and 12 billion active parameters, built for continuously running enterprise agents. Two compact Bolt models for local PCs and edge devices launch alongside it, though the 4 GB variant ships later this month.
Unbiased releases Pareto 26.9: 262K-context composite model at $2.50/$7.50 per 1M tokens
Unbiased has released Pareto 26.9, a multimodal composite model with a 262K-token context window, priced at $2.50 per 1M input tokens and $7.50 per 1M output tokens. It is listed on OpenRouter with a Oct 13, 2026 release date. A cheaper 1.0M-context preview, Pareto 26.10, is already listed alongside it.
OpenBMB releases MiniCPM-V 4.7 1B, an on-device vision model with 4x/16x visual token compression
OpenBMB has released MiniCPM-V 4.7 1B, a 1B-parameter multimodal model for single-image, multi-image and video understanding on phones, tablets and local hardware. OpenBMB claims it substantially outperforms Qwen3.5 0.8B in overall score and inference efficiency in Instruct mode. Benchmark figures, context window and training cutoff are not given in the available model card text.
Comments
Loading...