Meta Launches Low-Cost 'Contributor' Tier of Muse Spark 1.2 Reasoning Model
Meta has introduced a discounted 'Contributor' tier of its Muse Spark 1.2 reasoning model, priced at $0.10 per 1M input tokens and $0.20 per 1M output tokens. The lower cost comes with a tradeoff: prompts and outputs may be used to improve Meta's products.
What happened
Meta has released a new access tier for its Muse Spark 1.2 reasoning model called the "Contributor" tier, listed on OpenRouter as meta/muse-spark-1.2-contributor. According to Meta, this tier is "meaningfully cheaper" than standard Muse Spark 1.2 access, priced at $0.10 per 1 million input tokens and $0.20 per 1 million output tokens.
The catch: prompts and outputs sent through the Contributor tier may be used by Meta to improve its products. This data-sharing arrangement is what enables the reduced pricing, positioning the tier for developers doing experimentation, learning, and early-stage projects where cost matters more than data privacy.
Technical specifications
Muse Spark 1.2 Contributor is a reasoning model built for agentic workloads. Key specs:
- Context window: 1 million tokens
- Input modalities: text, images, video, audio, PDF documents
- Output modality: text only
- Pricing: $0.10 / $0.20 per 1M tokens (input/output)
- Listed release date: August 21, 2026
According to Meta, the model supports structured output, parallel function calling, and configurable reasoning effort. It's designed to operate as either a primary agent that plans and delegates subtasks, or as a subagent executing work in parallel — a multi-agent architecture pattern increasingly common in coding and automation tools. Meta states the model works across multiple coding harnesses and, in its internal testing, performs well on multi-file refactors, extended debugging sessions, and whole-repository code generation.
No independent benchmark scores were provided in the listing, and Meta has not disclosed the underlying parameter count or training cutoff date for Muse Spark 1.2 or this tier variant.
Context: what "Contributor" actually means
This is not a new model checkpoint. It's a repackaging of the existing Muse Spark 1.2 model under a different commercial and data-usage arrangement — similar in spirit to free or discounted tiers offered by other providers in exchange for training data rights. The underlying weights and capabilities appear identical to standard Muse Spark 1.2; what changes is the price and Meta's ability to use the traffic for product improvement.
Uptime and latency data for the Contributor tier were not yet available at time of listing, with OpenRouter noting "not enough data for apps using this model yet" and only three days of availability history.
What this means
For developers, the Contributor tier lowers the barrier to testing Meta's agentic reasoning capabilities — a 1M-token context window with multimodal input at sub-$1-per-million-token pricing is aggressive even by current market standards. But the tradeoff is explicit: this tier is not suited for proprietary code, sensitive data, or production systems where data confidentiality matters, since inputs and outputs may feed back into Meta's model training pipeline. Teams should treat this as a sandbox tier for prototyping rather than a drop-in replacement for standard Muse Spark 1.2 access. Meta joins a broader industry pattern of using discounted, data-sharing tiers to seed early adoption of agentic and reasoning models before their broader competitive positioning is established.
Related Articles
Meta launches Muse AI agent app for iPad after weeks as the top free iPhone app in the US
Meta has released Muse, its proactive agentic AI app, for iPad. The update adds business-focused connectors, including Asana, Canva, Figma, QuickBooks and Meta ad accounts. Muse has been the #1 free iPhone app on the US App Store for several weeks, according to 9to5Mac.
Cline v4.1.24 defaults to Claude Sonnet 5.5 and adds Claude Haiku 5.5 to its model catalog
Cline v4.1.24 makes Claude Sonnet 5.5 the default model for the Cline and OpenRouter providers when no model is selected. The release also adds Claude Haiku 5.5 and three new providers, and fixes reasoning-off 400 errors on several models plus an auto-compaction token-count bug.
Google builds Antigravity into Gemini app for macOS, limited to AI Ultra subscribers
Google has integrated Antigravity, its agent-first development platform, directly into the Gemini app for macOS as part of the Gemini 4 Argon rollout. Access requires an AI Ultra subscription, while the new model itself requires AI Pro or above. The update also renames and reorganizes several app features, including Gemini Spark, Skills and Connectors.
Google DeepMind: Gemini 4 Argon scores 87% on ERQA embodied reasoning, targets full robotics stack
Google DeepMind says Gemini 4 Argon scores 87% on the Embodied Reasoning (ERQA) benchmark using pure reasoning, ahead of every other frontier model. A new robotics post demonstrates robot control, Real2Sim reconstruction, physical understanding, and self-improvement workflows. Pricing, context window, and availability were not disclosed.
Comments
Loading...