Ideogram 4.5 launches with native 2K output and four tiers from $0.008 to $0.22 per image
Ideogram has released Ideogram 4.5, an image model it claims edits only the area a user specifies and leaves the rest untouched. It offers four quality tiers from 0.8 to 22 cents per image, all at native 2K resolution, via the Ideogram platform and API. An open-weight release is promised but not yet dated.
Ideogram has released Ideogram 4.5, an image model that the company claims modifies only the region a user specifies and leaves the rest of the image unchanged. The model is available now on the Ideogram platform and through the API, with four quality tiers priced from $0.008 to $0.22 per image, all at native 2K resolution.
Key details
- Pricing: Four quality tiers, from 0.8 cents to 22 cents per image. Tier names and the exact price of each tier were not specified in the source report.
- Resolution: Native 2K across all tiers.
- Availability: Ideogram platform and API, live now.
- Partners: Picsart, Runway, Pika, and Leonardo AI.
- Open weights: Ideogram says an open-weight release is coming soon. No date, license, or model size has been disclosed.
- Not disclosed: Parameter count, training cutoff, and benchmark scores. A context window is not applicable to the source report's description of the model.
The problem Ideogram is targeting
Localized editing is a persistent weakness in image generation. When a user changes one element, such as swapping a person's outfit, the subject's body shape and the background should stay intact. According to the report, models such as GPT-Image 2.5 and Nano Banana have improved considerably here but still tend to produce artifacts, particularly after several consecutive edits.
Ideogram claims 4.5 "only touches what the user tells it to." The company lists product photography, interior design, photo restoration, and in-image text editing as target use cases.
What is verified and what is not
The consistency claim comes from Ideogram. The Decoder reports that early testers confirm strong consistency across edits, but no named testers, test methodology, or quantitative results were published. Ideogram has not released head-to-head benchmark numbers against GPT-Image 2.5 or Nano Banana, so the comparison remains unquantified.
The partner list suggests immediate distribution beyond Ideogram's own product. Picsart, Runway, Pika, and Leonardo AI are all established creative-tool platforms. Whether each partner has already integrated 4.5 or will do so later was not specified.
What this means
Edit stability across multiple passes matters more than single-shot quality for professional workflows. Product photography and interior design rely on iterative changes, and cumulative drift forces users to restart or fix results manually. If Ideogram's claim holds up under independent testing, 4.5 addresses a real barrier to production use.
The pricing spread is also notable. A 27.5x gap between the cheapest and most expensive tier lets developers use low-cost tiers for drafts and reserve the top tier for final output. Without tier-level detail, though, teams cannot yet model costs accurately.
Two things will determine the model's standing: independent evaluations of multi-edit consistency, and the open-weight release. Ideogram has given no timeline or license terms for the weights, and those details will decide whether the release matters to self-hosting developers and the research community.
Related Articles
Amazon open-sources Strands Decider 2B, a small decision model built on a Qwen3.5-2B base
Amazon Web Services has released Strands Decider 2B, an open-source model that chooses among pre-decided options and returns a confidence score instead of generating text. It is inspired by TypeSafe's Jev and is small enough to run locally. Amazon says it briefly topped the Jevbench ranking for models of its size.
Unbiased releases Pareto 26.10 Preview: 1M context, $0.80/$3.20 per 1M tokens on OpenRouter
Unbiased has listed Pareto 26.10 Preview on OpenRouter, a multimodal composite model with a 1.0M-token context window priced at $0.80 input and $3.20 output per 1M tokens. The company says it targets research, coding, and agentic workflows, and warns the preview may change without notice. No benchmark scores have been published.
Google launches Gemini 4 Argon at $2/$10 per 1M tokens, rolling out first to Fairwind cybersecurity partners
Google has launched Gemini 4 Argon, the first model in the Gemini 4 family, at an introductory $2 per million input tokens and $10 per million output tokens. Artificial Analysis says it matches GPT-6 Astra on its Intelligence Index at 60% of the cost per task, with a 15% hallucination rate. Access starts with Google's Fairwind Program for governments and trusted partners.
Google Releases Gemini 4 Argon, Positions It as Most Powerful Model Yet With Cybersecurity Focus
Google has released Gemini 4 Argon, a new model the company calls its most powerful yet, with a specific focus on defensive cybersecurity work. The model is currently limited to select partners through Google's Fairwind Program, with no public pricing or context window details disclosed.
Comments
Loading...