Google Expands Gemini Spark Agentic Assistant to All AI Pro and Ultra Subscribers
Google is expanding access to Gemini Spark, its agentic AI assistant built on Gemini 3.5, to all Google AI Pro subscribers in the US and Google AI Ultra subscribers globally. The rollout excludes free-tier users and, for Ultra, customers in the EEA, Switzerland, the UK, and Nigeria.
Google is widening the rollout of Gemini Spark, the agentic AI assistant it first announced at this year's I/O developer conference, according to Engadget. The expansion brings Spark to all Google AI Pro subscribers in the US and to Google AI Ultra subscribers in most countries, though free-tier users remain excluded entirely.
Google AI Pro costs $20 per month in the US. Google AI Ultra runs between $100 and $200 per month depending on region. Ultra subscribers in the European Economic Area, Switzerland, the UK, and Nigeria are not part of this expansion, according to the report — no reason was given for the exclusion, though it may relate to local regulatory or language-support requirements Google has not yet addressed.
Spark is powered by Gemini 3.5 and is built directly into Google Workspace apps rather than existing as a standalone chatbot. Users access it through a dedicated Spark page — via the sidebar on desktop or a menu option on mobile — where they type out tasks for the assistant to execute.
What Spark Can Do
According to Google, Spark can:
- Check email and calendar schedules each morning and surface a prioritized summary
- Automatically draft responses to emails from specific senders
- Summarize lengthy email threads
- Generate detailed reports in Google Docs by pulling from meeting notes and email content
Google describes these as a sample of Spark's capabilities, directing users to its support pages for the full task list. The company has not disclosed a parameter count, benchmark scores, or specific context window size for the underlying Gemini 3.5 model in relation to this feature, and no separate API pricing for Spark has been announced — it is bundled into existing AI Pro and Ultra subscriptions.
What this means
Spark represents Google's push to make agentic AI — assistants that execute multi-step tasks rather than just answer prompts — a default feature of paid Workspace tiers rather than a separate product. Locking it behind $20-to-$200-per-month subscriptions signals Google is treating agentic capability as premium infrastructure, not a consumer freebie, unlike some rivals experimenting with free-tier agent access.
The regional carve-out for Ultra users in the EEA, UK, Switzerland, and Nigeria is notable. It suggests either unresolved compliance questions — plausible given the EU's AI Act and data-protection scrutiny of deeply integrated, email-reading assistants — or a staggered rollout tied to language support, as the article itself hints. Either way, enterprise and power users outside those regions get earlier access to an assistant that reads inboxes and calendars automatically, raising the usual privacy and data-handling questions inherent to always-on email agents. Expect Google to expand geographic coverage once whatever compliance or localization gap exists gets closed.
Related Articles
OpenAI upgrades ChatGPT Chrome extension with multi-tab awareness and ChatGPT Work site control
OpenAI has upgraded its ChatGPT Chrome extension with a sidebar that reads across open tabs. Through ChatGPT Work, it can also control Chrome tabs to send messages, fill out forms and download files. TechRadar tested the form-filling feature and found it useful but in need of supervision.
Google Cloud adds three OpenAI GPT-6 models in private preview, alongside Gemini and Claude
Google Cloud has begun offering three OpenAI models, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna, in a private preview for select enterprise customers. Google says this makes it the only major cloud provider hosting Gemini, Claude and OpenAI models on one platform. Pricing, context windows and benchmark scores have not been disclosed.
Hugging Face Transformers v5.20.1 adds Reflection AI's Beam model and fixes loading on older torch
Hugging Face's Transformers v5.20.1 adds Beam, a model from Reflection AI that the release notes describe as token-efficient, frontier-scale, and aimed at coding and agentic work. The patch also fixes a regression that broke model loading on older torch versions. Beam's specifications and pricing were not disclosed in the release notes.
Google rolls out Gemini 4 Argon to Antigravity for AI Pro and Ultra subscribers with separate weekly quota
Google is rolling out Gemini 4 Argon, its latest flagship model, to the Antigravity agentic development platform for AI Pro and AI Ultra subscribers. Argon has a separate weekly-only quota on top of the existing Gemini 3.8 Flash quota. Google also published internal case studies, which are company-reported and not independently verified.
Comments
Loading...