product update

Google may expand Gemini 'Call for Me' to personal calls, per Android Authority APK teardown

TL;DR

Android Authority reports that an APK teardown shows a 'Gemini Calling' intro screen, suggesting Google may extend its 'Call for Me' AI feature from business calls to personal ones. Google has not announced the feature, and the report notes it may never ship publicly.

2 min read
0

Google may be preparing to extend its "Call for Me" AI feature from business calls to personal calls placed by Gemini on a user's behalf, according to an Android Authority APK teardown reported by The Verge on October 5, 2026. Google has not announced or confirmed the feature.

What the teardown found

Android Authority says it found a "Gemini Calling" introductory screen in an Android app package. The screen includes example prompts:

  • "Call Mom and tell her I will be 15 minutes late"
  • "Call John and ask if he is coming for dinner"

Both examples are short, single-purpose messages. The Verge's reading is that Gemini would likely be limited to basic calls that work like text messages, not extended conversations. Possible uses include reaching people who miss texts, prefer voice calls, or still use landlines.

Granular app permissions

Android Authority also reports finding "granular permissions" for Gemini actions inside individual apps, including what appear to be phone call settings. If they ship, these would let users choose which app capabilities Gemini can access. The Verge notes they could also give users a way to opt out of receiving incoming automated calls from Gemini. That second point is an interpretation of the settings, not a confirmed feature.

What is not known

  • Release timing: none disclosed.
  • Availability: no information on regions, devices, languages or subscription tiers.
  • Pricing: not disclosed.
  • Underlying model: the report does not say which Gemini model would power the calls.
  • Whether it ships: Android Authority itself cautions that Google may never release the expansion or the granular settings. Code in an APK shows what is in development, not what will launch.

What this means

If the teardown reflects a real product direction, Gemini would move from calling businesses to calling private individuals. That raises consent and disclosure questions that business calls largely avoid. A person receiving a call from a business may expect automation. A person receiving a call from a friend's assistant may not. The per-app permission controls, and any option to refuse automated incoming calls, would be Google's likely answer to that concern, but the report does not confirm how they would work.

The examples also suggest a narrow scope. Delivering a one-line message by voice is far easier to get right than holding an open-ended conversation, and an error costs little: a wrong arrival time, not a botched negotiation. Keeping the feature to simple relay tasks fits a cautious rollout.

Treat this as an early signal, not a launch. Until Google publishes details on scope, availability and recipient-side controls, the practical impact on users and developers is unknowable.

Related Articles

product update

Gemini app adds Map tool for location prompts on Android and iOS; '@' set to replace '/' for skills

Google has rolled out a "Map" tool in the Gemini app on Android and iOS that lets users select a location and attach it to a prompt. Separately, Google app beta 17.63 shows Gemini replacing the "/" skills shortcut with "@", a change that is not yet widely available.

product update

Google launches Guided Vision in Gemini Live, giving real-time audio descriptions through the Android camera

Google began rolling out Guided Vision in Gemini Live on compatible Android devices on October 1, 2026. The feature uses the phone camera to give real-time audio descriptions of surroundings and objects, with follow-up questions supported. Google warns it should not be used for navigation or obstacle detection.

product update

Google limits free Gemini app users to Flash-Lite from Oct. 9; AI Pro adds Deep Think

Starting October 9, Gemini app users without a Google AI subscription will be limited to Flash-Lite, losing access to Flash and Pro. AI Plus ($4.99/month) subscribers lose Pro, while AI Pro ($19.99/month) gains Deep Think, according to an updated Google support document.

product update

Amazon Bedrock adds Z.ai's 753B-parameter GLM 5.3 for eligible enterprise customers

Amazon Bedrock now offers GLM 5.3, Z.ai's 753B-parameter mixture-of-experts model, through managed APIs with cross-Region inference, prompt caching and service tiers. Access is limited to eligible enterprise customers. Pricing and context window were not disclosed in AWS's announcement.

Comments

Loading...