product updateBlack Forest Labs

Black Forest Labs Launches FLUX Upscale, a Dedicated Tool for 4K Video Upscaling

TL;DR

Black Forest Labs has released FLUX Upscale, a dedicated tool that takes existing video and regenerates it at higher resolution, up to native 4K. The tool is now available as its own FLUX endpoint.

2 min read
0

Black Forest Labs has released FLUX Upscale, a standalone tool for increasing video resolution up to native 4K. The tool is now available as its own FLUX Tool and API endpoint, separate from the company's core video and image generation models.

What It Does

According to Black Forest Labs, FLUX Upscale takes an existing video file and regenerates it at a higher target resolution, with support for both 2K and native 4K output. Rather than applying traditional interpolation-based upscaling, the tool reportedly regenerates frame content, a technique consistent with the generative approach used across the FLUX model family for image tasks like inpainting and outpainting.

The company has not disclosed the underlying architecture, parameter count, or whether FLUX Upscale shares weights with existing FLUX video or image models. No benchmark comparisons against other video upscaling methods have been published.

Availability and Pricing

FLUX Upscale is available now as a dedicated endpoint, positioning it alongside other FLUX Tools such as Fill, Canny, and Depth, which Black Forest Labs has previously released as task-specific variants built on its core FLUX.1 models. Pricing per video or per resolution tier has not yet been disclosed. No information has been released on maximum input video length, supported formats, or processing latency at 4K output.

What This Means

Video upscaling has largely been the domain of specialized tools like Topaz Video AI and traditional super-resolution models. Black Forest Labs entering this space with a generative approach signals an effort to extend its FLUX ecosystem beyond image generation and editing into video post-production workflows.

The practical value here depends heavily on details the company hasn't shared: processing cost per minute of footage, how well the generative regeneration preserves temporal consistency across frames (a common failure point for AI-based video upscaling), and whether output quality holds up against established non-generative upscalers at 4K. Until pricing and independent benchmarks surface, this should be treated as a capability announcement rather than a proven production tool. Studios and video pipelines evaluating it will want to test temporal artifacts and motion consistency directly before committing workflows to it.

Related Articles

product update

Suno adds Speech beta: spoken text and matching background music generated as a single audio track

Suno has added Speech, a beta feature that generates spoken text and matching background music together as a single audio track. Suno says it tested the feature with a small group for a month. The company has not disclosed how the underlying model was trained.

product update

ChatGPT adds virtual try-on and Favorites in global shopping update built on Images 2.5

OpenAI launched two shopping features in ChatGPT globally on Thursday: a virtual try-on tool for clothing and accessories, and a Favorites function for saving products. OpenAI says both use its newly launched ChatGPT Images 2.5 model. Pricing and plan availability were not disclosed in the source reporting.

product update

Google limits free Gemini app users to Flash-Lite from Oct. 9; AI Pro adds Deep Think

Starting October 9, Gemini app users without a Google AI subscription will be limited to Flash-Lite, losing access to Flash and Pro. AI Plus ($4.99/month) subscribers lose Pro, while AI Pro ($19.99/month) gains Deep Think, according to an updated Google support document.

product update

Anthropic adds Mods to Claude Code, a plugin system that hooks into tool calls, prompts and UI rendering

Anthropic released Mods for Claude Code, a plugin system built on JavaScript and TypeScript functions that hook into events such as tool calls, user prompts and UI rendering. Mods are not sandboxed and run with the user's permissions. They work in the CLI, the desktop app and, partly, the VS Code extension.

Comments

Loading...