product update

Cursor Launches ₹649/Month 'Start' Plan for Indian Developers

TL;DR

Cursor has launched Cursor Start, a new ₹649 per month subscription plan tailored for developers in India, complete with local UPI billing. The plan includes access to Grok 4.5, Cursor's Composer model, always-on cloud agents, and Cursor for iOS.

2 min read
0

Cursor, the AI-powered code editor from Anysphere, has introduced Cursor Start, a new subscription tier priced at ₹649 per month specifically for developers in India. The plan launched on July 28, 2026, and is designed to lower the cost barrier for daily agentic coding workflows in the Indian market.

What's included

According to Cursor's changelog, Cursor Start bundles the following:

  • Model access: Generous usage of Grok 4.5, described by Cursor as its most powerful model, alongside Composer, the company's most price-efficient coding model. Cursor claims the allotment is enough to "build with agents every day."
  • Always-on cloud agents: Background agents that build, test, and ship code asynchronously while developers continue other work.
  • Cursor for iOS: Remote control from a phone, letting developers launch and steer agents on the go.
  • Extensibility: Support for plugins, MCP servers, hooks, and skills across workflows.

Pricing and billing

The plan costs ₹649 per month, tax inclusive, billed monthly with auto-renewal. Cursor is offering local payment rails — UPI or card — rather than requiring international card payments, a notable accessibility change for the Indian developer market. Pricing for other markets and any dollar-denominated equivalent was not disclosed in the announcement.

Availability

Existing Free-tier users in India can upgrade directly from the Cursor dashboard. New users can sign up at cursor.com/signup and select the Start plan during onboarding. The plan is live as of July 28, 2026.

No information was given on usage caps, rate limits, or how Cursor Start compares quantitatively to its existing Pro or Business tiers in terms of agent-hours, token allowances, or request limits. Cursor's changelog also does not specify pricing for Grok 4.5 or Composer on a per-token basis under this plan, nor context window sizes for either model within the Cursor product.

What this means

Cursor Start is a geographic pricing strategy rather than a model or feature release — it repackages existing Cursor capabilities (Grok 4.5 access, Composer, cloud agents, iOS remote control) into a lower-cost, locally billed tier aimed at expanding Cursor's user base in a large, price-sensitive developer market. The move signals that AI coding tool vendors are increasingly treating regional pricing and local payment methods (UPI in this case) as a competitive lever, not just model capability. It also indicates continued reliance on third-party frontier models like xAI's Grok 4.5 as a selling point, rather than Cursor shipping a proprietary model update. For India-based developers, the practical impact is lower financial friction to daily agentic coding — the real test will be whether usage limits under Start prove sufficient for production-level work or push users toward higher-priced tiers.

Related Articles

product update

OpenAI GPT-6.1 Terra Pro lists on OpenRouter at $1 input, $5 output per 1M tokens, 1.1M context

GPT-6.1 Terra Pro is the same underlying model as GPT-6.1 Terra, served with reasoning.mode set to pro. OpenRouter lists it with a 1.1M context window at $1 input and $5 output per 1M tokens, and says a typical request costs several times more than on Terra.

product update

Microsoft makes Copilot harness available to developers through Foundry

On October 28, 2026, Microsoft made the Microsoft Copilot harness available to developers and enterprise customers through Microsoft Foundry. The multi-model orchestration layer already powers Copilot Code, Copilot Studio, the GitHub Copilot app, the Copilot CLI and VS Code.

product update

Google launches Connected Apps Platform to bring third-party apps into Gemini and Search

Google announced the Connected Apps Platform, a unified route for developers to bring their apps into Gemini and Search. More than 50 third-party Connected Apps already exist in the Gemini app, and a Calm integration is due in the coming weeks.

product update

Google opens Android Studio to more than 40 third-party coding agents with Bring Your Own Agent

Google is opening Android Studio to more than 40 external coding agents, including Anthropic's Claude Agent and OpenAI's Codex, through a new Bring Your Own Agent feature in Android Studio Rabbit 2. At the Android Dev Summit, it also announced an alpha Agentic API powered by Gemini Nano 4, a beta AppFunctions API, and the $1,099 XREAL AURA smart glasses.

Comments

Loading...