OpenAI upgrades ChatGPT memory architecture with automatic 'dreaming' synthesis, now available to free users
OpenAI is rolling out a new memory architecture for ChatGPT that automatically synthesizes information across conversations without explicit user prompts. The company announced free tier users will access memory features for the first time, while Plus and Pro users receive expanded memory capacity.
New Memory Architecture Replaces Basic Saved Memories
OpenAI is rolling out a new memory architecture for ChatGPT that automatically synthesizes information across conversations without explicit user prompts. The company announced free tier users will access memory features for the first time, while Plus and Pro users receive expanded memory capacity.
The update builds on OpenAI's "dreaming" feature, a background process that has been supplementing basic saved memories since 2024. According to OpenAI, the original saved memories feature launched in April 2024 required strong user cues and suffered from decreasing relevance over time.
How the New System Works
The updated architecture generates a "memory summary" that users can read, edit, and manage at any time. Users can add information about themselves and specify when ChatGPT should reference stored context.
According to OpenAI, the system now better carries forward context across conversations. In one example, if a user previously discussed their camera equipment, ChatGPT will generate product recommendations compatible with that specific setup in future conversations. The system also automatically revises memories over time — preventing the chatbot from referencing past trips as upcoming events.
The new architecture works alongside the memory sources feature released with GPT-5.5 Instant, which allows users to see and edit the specific information ChatGPT used to personalize responses.
Free Tier Gets Memory for First Time
OpenAI attributes free tier access to "behind-the-scenes efficiency improvements" that make the dreaming process computationally cheaper to run at scale. The company states this marks the first time free account holders will have access to memory features through the dreaming process.
Plus and Pro subscribers receive greater memory capacity compared to free users, though OpenAI did not specify exact storage limits for either tier.
The rollout begins today for Plus and Pro users in the United States, with international availability planned for "the coming weeks." Free tier access timeline was not disclosed.
What This Means
This update signals OpenAI's focus on stateful AI interactions as a competitive differentiator. By extending memory to free users, the company is normalizing persistent context as a baseline chatbot feature rather than a premium capability. The efficiency gains that enabled free tier access suggest OpenAI has found ways to compress or optimize memory operations — potentially through architectural changes or more efficient retrieval mechanisms. The automatic revision of memories to maintain temporal accuracy addresses a core weakness of earlier implementations where stale context degraded user experience.
Related Articles
Claude Personal Finance skips model training by default; ChatGPT Finances follows your opt-out setting
Anthropic's new Personal Finance feature for Claude does not use hub conversations for model training by default. OpenAI's ChatGPT Finances, which debuted in May, applies the user's existing training settings, where "Improve the model for everyone" is on by default. Engadget compared the two.
OpenAI disproves Exponential Time Hypothesis, co-proposer Impagliazzo calls it "shocking news"
OpenAI has disproved the Exponential Time Hypothesis, a longstanding conjecture that some problems would always be hard for computers to solve quickly. Co-proposer Russell Impagliazzo called the result "shocking news," the New York Times reports.
OpenAI introduces BioBasicsBench, a 100-task benchmark for AI agents in everyday wet-lab science
OpenAI has introduced BioBasicsBench, a benchmark of 100 tasks. It measures how well AI agents interpret raw experimental data and handle everyday wet-lab science.
Tencent adds three video models to WorkRally: Rally-Video, Rally-Video-edit-2.0 and UpScale-rally with 4K output
Tencent has upgraded its WorkRally AI content-creation platform with three video models: Rally-Video for generation, Rally-Video-edit-2.0 for selective editing, and UpScale-rally for 2K and 4K super-resolution. Tencent claims UpScale-rally cuts processing time by 80% versus the previous version. Pricing was not disclosed.
Comments
Loading...